Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2011, 10:33 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Converter in 31 RKS

We just ordered a new 31 RKS, delivery expected March 1. Since there are none around here to even look at, does anyone know what brand of Converter is in it, or what the CHARGING amps are? I know from the specs that it is a 45 amp converter, but I would like to know what the CHARGING amps are, and whether it is a single stage charger, or a multi stage. The dealer doesn't seem to understand the question. Or know the answer.

Thanks,


Tom
__________________

altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 11:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
I wondered the same thing as you. My Superlite Fifth Wheel 28.5RLS is on order and the power converter is described the same as yours, "deluxe 120V 45-amp power converter". Here's a link to my question: https://www.jaycoowners.com/showthread.php?t=1585


I believe that if you can supply the VIN to Jayco Customer Service that they would be able to tell specifics about your converter.
__________________

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 11:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVhiker View Post
I wondered the same thing as you. My Superlite Fifth Wheel 28.5RLS is on order and the power converter is described the same as yours, "deluxe 120V 45-amp power converter". Here's a link to my question: https://www.jaycoowners.com/showthread.php?t=1585


I believe that if you can supply the VIN to Jayco Customer Service that they would be able to tell specifics about your converter.
Since I've ordered it, but don't have it, gettting a VIN number isn't possible. It seems that many folks assume that since it is a 45 amp converter, it will charge at 45 amps. That isn't possible. Most converters have a maximum charge rate that in some cases is far below the stated converter amperage. I installed a Progressive Dynamics charger in the Motorhome that I am trading in that charges at 60 amps. I would even be satisfied if the Jayco charged at 30 amps, progressively. If it doesn't, then I will have to buy something that does.

Tom
altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:53 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
Welcome to the Jayco Owners Forum Tom! Check with the service dept at your dealer... if that doesn't help, contact Jayco direct at 574-825-5861 with the model you are buying. Good luck
__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 427
I agree with Healthi to give Jayco a call... They should be able to tell you...
Mopar1973Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:33 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
I don't know the specifics to your question but I will go get my paperwork out and see if it is in there. We have a 2010 31RKS and have been camping in it twice. We love ours and the current draw or charging rate has not been a problem, but of course we are usually hooked up via landline at the campgrounds. Have not been out for any extended trips not hooked up. Let me go out and get the books.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Well this much I found, it is an IOTA converter and here is a link to there products if this will help you. http://www.rvfunproducts.com/rv-powe...-c-96_466.html Did not really see what the charging rate was. Hope this might help you. I don't understand all I know about these things anyway, which is not much!
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:58 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Just an afterthought on your electrical system question. My dealer installed a second 12 volt battery on our unit. He said with the electrically operated slideout, it was good to have a second battery on board. So we have two 12 volt batteries operating our 31RKS.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthi View Post
Welcome to the Jayco Owners Forum Tom! Check with the service dept at your dealer... if that doesn't help, contact Jayco direct at 574-825-5861 with the model you are buying. Good luck
Thanks for the number! I checked with the service dept, and they didn't know. I will call Jayco direct.

Tom
altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by namusmc65 View Post
Well this much I found, it is an IOTA converter and here is a link to there products if this will help you. http://www.rvfunproducts.com/rv-powe...-c-96_466.html Did not really see what the charging rate was. Hope this might help you. I don't understand all I know about these things anyway, which is not much!
Hmm. It is entirely possible that a full 45 amps will be delivered to the battery via the charger in the absence of any other trailer load. I'll ask Jayco. The reasoning for all this is when dry camping, if I plug the trailer into my generator, what would be the max charging rate. On many of the older trailers, it was no more than 3 or 8 amps, which is close to useless. If that were the case, then I would hook up my external Vector 60 amp charger directly to the batteries, thereby diminishing my generator run time by a bunch. Thanks for all the answers everyone.

Tom
__________________

altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.