Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-03-2022, 08:31 PM   #1

Electric Brakes Troubleshooting

I had a previous thread regarding "Inline fuse from battery to converter overheating / blowing" where I was advised to check my brakes because I pulled the breakaway pin for an extended period of time. I have gotten to checking them and this is what I'm seeing with the first one:

Connected the trailer to my truck and checked the amperage to the wires when pushing the brakes. I got 0.3A to the black wires and 0.9A to the white/blue wires (See picture). The Dexter manual says you should see 3A per magnet.

When I push the breaks on my truck, the magnets are, in fact, working as you can see in the picture. They seem to change in strength each time. Sometimes it's strong enough where I can't pull the plyers off and sometimes they fall off on their own. I have no experience with this. Is it because of the low current? Is this a sign of damage to the magnets?
Attached Thumbnails
Brake Wires.jpg   Magnet.jpg   Magnet2.jpg  
jpich0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2022, 05:19 AM   #2

I fail to see how you can blow a fuse from your battery to converter, are you towing it plugged in to a 120VAC source?

My current TV does not supply full amps unless gain is set to max and brakes are applied hard. Old style aftermarket controllers were generally on or off, gain sets amps. Depending on your TV and how you apply brakes you will likely see different amp readings.

How are you checking amps for breakaway system?
Disconnect trailer from TV and 120VAC. Don't test while connected to anything, 12V backfed into your brake controller may not make it happy...
Connect amp meter between battery and breakaway switch.
Pull breakaway switch.