Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2020, 08:24 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 2,551
I'm not an electrician but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night. Seriously, I can help people on the forum with a lot of stuff but I will always keep my opinions to myself if there's any question as to my lack of knowledge. Kudos to all the electricians on the board as I've learned a lot from you people.
__________________

__________________
2012 Eagle 320 RLDS
2017 Ford F-250 FX4 Crew STX 6.2l
3.73 E-locker
TCNashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:01 AM   #42
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 17,179
I also have learned a lot about electricity and electronics from schools and
actual experience. I think threw and investigate before jumping in blindly.
Most electrical workers that I have known are not electrical engineers but do have a license to do what they do if they charge for their work. Many work under someone who has the credentials. You don't have to be a engineer to wire up a outlet but you need to know what you are doing.

My bil has a PHD in counseling but cannot make a living at it. I learned electricity and Electronics from Air Force Technical schools and other company schools with Ma Bell. They sent me to Elkins Radio Institute to get a radio license back when it was required to work on microwave radio. When I retired, I enrolled in a local tech school to learn what I needed to get a Residential Electrician License.

I learned more about high voltage street lights reading this thread than I ever knew or wanted to know and I enjoy being around people that know what they are talking about, so y'all keep talking and I will keep reading!
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box, Hughes PWD50 Power Watchdog
06 F350 Lariat PSD SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS
2017 GMC Terrain (future TOAD)

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:41 AM   #43
Senior Member
 
WeRJuliian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomson View Post
Ok. So you got to do your engineer bashing. Hoorah. I knew MEs that couldn't change the oil in their car, and EEs that had never been burnt on a soldering iron. .
I once watched a highly-lettered graduate engineer, pick up the wrong end of a soldering iron.
And yes, along with everyone else in the room, I stood back and let him do it. We all have to learn in our own way
WeRJuliian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:41 AM   #44
Senior Member
 
us71na's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: McKean, PA
Posts: 747
Remember 50% of the architects, engineers, doctors, etc graduated in the bottom half of their class.
__________________
2011 Skylark 21FKV
us71na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 07:24 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
rkymntsno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Schertz
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicr View Post
I build and design electrical distribution and control systems for a living and have done so for 37 years. Every "electrical" thread I see here has incorrect information in one or more posts. I'm just curious as to who actually is a licensed electrical engineer or licensed electrician here in this forum.
Well I need some expert advice. I have two lights over the recliners this switch controls. I bought a switch with a dimmer slide. I'll try to attach photos of both. The old switch has a loop and they spliced into it and connected to one switch terminal. The other wire goes directly into the other switch terminal. The new switch has three wires, black, red and white. Can you tell me how to connect the new switch????? Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
RV Light.jpg   RV Light 2.jpg   RV Light 3.jpg  
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 CC Longhorn LB SRW w/timbrens
2019 Jayco Eagle 355MBQS
Pullrite 2600 Superlite
rkymntsno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:15 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
us71na's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: McKean, PA
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymntsno View Post
Well I need some expert advice. I have two lights over the recliners this switch controls. I bought a switch with a dimmer slide. I'll try to attach photos of both. The old switch has a loop and they spliced into it and connected to one switch terminal. The other wire goes directly into the other switch terminal. The new switch has three wires, black, red and white. Can you tell me how to connect the new switch????? Thanks in advance!
The "loop" wire is going to your lights, one side to each light. The lone black wire in the bottom o the photo is your 12 volt supply. You can confirm that the single black wire is 12 volts by disconnecting it and connect the red lead of a voltmeter to it and the black lead of a voltmeter to ground. The voltmeter should read at least 12 volts.

To connect your dimmer per the diagram shown. Connect the "loop" wire to the white wire. Connect the single black wire to the red wire. You will need to run a third wire to a ground point in your RV. I would insure that the new switch doesn't get too hot before putting it back into the wall.
__________________
2011 Skylark 21FKV
us71na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 09:34 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 1,145
The loop is the hot wire and the single wire is the switch leg going to your lights. An LED dimmer requires a negative connection going to the lights to be dimmed not a trailer ground reference. Refer to the wiring diagram for your dimmer.
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 09:40 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 1,145
Schematics.
Attached Thumbnails
LED Dimmer Schematic.jpg   Dimmer Schematic.jpg  
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 09:43 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 1,145
Hopefully this uploaded in the correct orientation.
Attached Thumbnails
LED Dimmer Schematic.jpg  
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 11:08 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymntsno View Post
Well I need some expert advice. I have two lights over the recliners this switch controls. I bought a switch with a dimmer slide. I'll try to attach photos of both. The old switch has a loop and they spliced into it and connected to one switch terminal. The other wire goes directly into the other switch terminal. The new switch has three wires, black, red and white. Can you tell me how to connect the new switch????? Thanks in advance!
The directions on the switch could not get any clearer. You are putting a dimer in where there was not one. You do not have the proper wire in the wall to install that switch. You need hot, ground, and switch leg.

Your wiring looks to be hot and switch leg. The picture on the top left is confusing. Is that just one wire coming from the wall that goes to both tabs on the switch???

RED = hot
BLK = ground.
WHT =switch leg to the light.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 06:17 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 1,017
I do agree with this as well. I consider myself knowledgeable with electrical and am not afraid to take on what I would consider simple electrical tasks. Since I am not an electrician, I avoid giving advice on forums regarding electrical issues, unless it’s general homeowner type of issue.

I have seen so much misinformation given as well, especially when it comes to the 30 / 50 amp RV’s differences. I’ll admit, it’s sometimes entertaining seeing the banter about these things.
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2020 377 RLBH
2018 Ram 3500 Mega Limited 6.7L Cummins w/ Aisin
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 07:17 AM   #52
Senior Member
 
rkymntsno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Schertz
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavie View Post
The directions on the switch could not get any clearer. You are putting a dimer in where there was not one. You do not have the proper wire in the wall to install that switch. You need hot, ground, and switch leg.

Your wiring looks to be hot and switch leg. The picture on the top left is confusing. Is that just one wire coming from the wall that goes to both tabs on the switch???

RED = hot
BLK = ground.
WHT =switch leg to the light.
The picture is not the best. No, the loop wire has been spliced by the top tab. The bottom tab has the lone wire coming in. So it sounds like I need another ground wire connected that isn't currently there. If that's the case, not gonna tackle that. I understand the new switch's labels. Just didn't know how the old switch is connected. That's why I'm asking.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 CC Longhorn LB SRW w/timbrens
2019 Jayco Eagle 355MBQS
Pullrite 2600 Superlite
rkymntsno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 07:29 AM   #53
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 8,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymntsno View Post
So it sounds like I need another ground wire connected that isn't currently there. If that's the case, not gonna tackle that. I understand the new switch's labels.
Is that a piece of aluminum frame to the left of the hole for the switch? If so you may be able to pickup your ground by attaching the wire to it with a self tapping screw. Usually all the framing is grounded, If you have a meter I would check anyway.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 07:36 AM   #54
Senior Member
 
rkymntsno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Schertz
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
Is that a piece of aluminum frame to the left of the hole for the switch? If so you may be able to pickup your ground by attaching the wire to it with a self tapping screw. Usually all the framing is grounded, If you have a meter I would check anyway.
First of all, thanks to everyone that has responded. I appreciate the help. I need it, lol. But not sure about the aluminum framing. Will have to go back to the RV and check it out. I'm trying to gather as much info as I can. I even have two different dimmer switches. My other one is just like ones that I currently have in the RV over the living area, shoots a beam of light that you cover to turn off/on/dim. Duh, I think I'll pull one of them off and see how they're connected.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 CC Longhorn LB SRW w/timbrens
2019 Jayco Eagle 355MBQS
Pullrite 2600 Superlite
rkymntsno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 12:04 PM   #55
Member
 
blacklabbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Crossville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicr View Post
I build and design electrical distribution and control systems for a living and have done so for 37 years. Every "electrical" thread I see here has incorrect information in one or more posts. I'm just curious as to who actually is a licensed electrical engineer or licensed electrician here in this forum.
We're so lucky to have you.🤣
blacklabbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 12:26 PM   #56
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: newburgh
Posts: 7
I am
ffrederff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 12:51 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
Wireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
I really don't understand why some people find the need to post their resumes here, over and over.
He's earned the right to give a professional opinion on electrical issues.

I'll take any expert advice by those who are qualified when I need it.
Wireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 01:14 PM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 69
Well, Happy 4th of July!

Maybe tomorrow I'l say Happy 5th of July.... or maybe not.

If you are in a time zone where it is not the 4th, then Happy Whatever Day!
garywilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:06 PM   #59
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Colonia
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicr View Post
I build and design electrical distribution and control systems for a living and have done so for 37 years. Every "electrical" thread I see here has incorrect information in one or more posts. I'm just curious as to who actually is a licensed electrical engineer or licensed electrician here in this forum.
I need some of that expertise!
I have a 50 Amp coach. At home it's plugged into a 30 Amp recepticle through a Dog Bone. I've been reading about "soft start" devices. We have 15,000 and a 13,500 air conditioner. By accident I turned on the bedroom While the living room was already running. Started right up....no staggering no problem. Ran for hours, no problem. This is a Jayco Precept UL 31. I bought it used through a dealer so I never had the chance to talk to the first owner and am learning what it has and does by experimenting. It's heavily equipped. Might I have a soft start and not know it? Do Soft Starts do any harm to the air conditioner compressors? Does running both air conditioners do any harm when plugged into the 30 amp socket at home? Thanks.
SalzerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 03:02 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 1,145
You’re all good, what you describe is normal operation. Soft start devices actually help compressor motors start. Most people that boondock on generator or solar wll use them.
__________________

Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×