Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2020, 06:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Ground Fault Error

I recently installed a EMS unit in my TT. I'm testing it at home plugged into a 20A outlet with ground. The EMS goes through its self-check and sends power into the trailer. I run things separately to avoid tripping the house circuit breaker. Microwave runs, electric water heater and frig on electric but when I turn the A/C on the fan will start and run for about 5 seconds but the the EMS will shut off power and shows a group fault error. Any ideas as to why the error occurs when th A/C is attempting to run?
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 06:18 PM   #2
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 6,902
The A/C is drawing too many amps, and shutting it down. They draw a lot on startup.
__________________
Every day's a learning experience, though sometimes not what we expected.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 08:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFlightRisk View Post
The A/C is drawing too many amps, and shutting it down. They draw a lot on startup.
I understand the issue of high startup current but the 30 amp EMS would not shutdown power for high current unless I was exceeding the 30 amp rating of the EMS which I'm definitely not doing when starting a 13.5K BTU A/C unit. The EMS doesn't detect that it is plugged into a 20 amp supply line and that would not explain the ground fault error.
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 08:20 PM   #4
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 6,902
I wonder if you have a hot wire going to ground somewhere in the cord or the 20 amp socket it's plugged into?
__________________
Every day's a learning experience, though sometimes not what we expected.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 10:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFlightRisk View Post
I wonder if you have a hot wire going to ground somewhere in the cord or the 20 amp socket it's plugged into?
I would think that if that were the case the ground fault error would be consistent versus only occurring when the A/C is trying to start. While I understand the high load that occurs with the A/C startup I don't understand how that would be the only thing that triggers the ground fault error unless it's something specific to the A/C circuit. That said I've I had the unit for three years running with two different EMS units and have never experienced a ground fault error.
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 10:07 PM   #6
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 6,902
That is strange indeed. I would have to call in an electrician if I was experiencing that on ours. Perhaps someone else here will have another idea or two, an will chime in for you.
__________________
Every day's a learning experience, though sometimes not what we expected.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 10:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,632
Group Fault... or Ground Fault? The first OP said both.

It could be shutting down because of low voltage. When amp surge goes up, voltage drops.

Are you using an additional extension cord, or is the TT cord plugged in right at the outlet?

What's your line voltage before the A/C tries to start?
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 10:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
Group Fault... or Ground Fault? The first OP said both.

It could be shutting down because of low voltage. When amp surge goes up, voltage drops.

Are you using an additional extension cord, or is the TT cord plugged in right at the outlet?

What's your line voltage before the A/C tries to start?
It's ground fault . A low voltage shutdown should not produce a ground fault error.
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 11:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,632
Which model EMS did you install? If it's a Progressive EMS, I don't see "ground fault" as one of the codes.
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 12:17 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
Which model EMS did you install? If it's a Progressive EMS, I don't see "ground fault" as one of the codes.
Surge Guard model 35530 (30 amp hardwired).
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 03:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 646
I too have never heard of a Ground Fault error from an EMS either. If the A/C is the only thing causing a problem then that is where I would start. Compresser motor may very well be the problem with leakage to ground. Have an Electrician check it out. He can temp wire a ground fault breaker in that circuit and that will tell the tail.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 03:18 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFlightRisk View Post
The A/C is drawing too many amps, and shutting it down. They draw a lot on startup.
A?C breaker is not tripping. Not drawing too many amps.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 06:27 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Lowell
Posts: 130
[IMG][/IMG]

Remote monitor display 40300


[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
2019 Jayco Eagle HT 30.5MLOK
2002 F250 SD CC 4X4 7.3PSD
JaycoMLOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 06:37 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Lowell
Posts: 130
Almost bet it’s shutting down on low voltage.
__________________
2019 Jayco Eagle HT 30.5MLOK
2002 F250 SD CC 4X4 7.3PSD
JaycoMLOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 07:10 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 3,350
I agree with the others who have stated the shutdown is likely due to voltage drop due to the high draw on start up on a 20 amp circuit.
__________________
2016 28BHBE
Progressive Industries EMS - Hardwired
Marineco Detachable Shore Cord
CRE 3000 Equalizer / Wet Bolt Kit
Equalizer 4 Point WDH
2016 Ford F250 6.2 Gasser
Air Lift Rear Bags w/ On Board Compressor
Marcm157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 07:35 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcm157 View Post
I agree with the others who have stated the shutdown is likely due to voltage drop due to the high draw on start up on a 20 amp circuit.
I guess my question is why the ground fault error and not a low voltage error if it is shutting down due to low voltage?
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 08:36 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 646
Now I see the confusion. The term "ground fault condition". As an electrician I would not call an "Open Ground" a "Ground fault". Ground fault is a hot to neutral condition.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 09:03 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2edgesword View Post
I guess my question is why the ground fault error and not a low voltage error if it is shutting down due to low voltage?
I don't see "ground fault error" as one of the codes on the surge protector. Can you tell us specifically what exact code you're seeing?
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 09:22 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,162
Well I hooked up my generator to the trailer and ran all systems (separately microwave, electric water heater and A/C) and no ground fault errors. All wiring was the same and the only difference was the power source. I even use the 20 amp outlet on the generator. My only conclusion is as some alluded to is the house supply could not meet the A/C short term demand of 22A/110V start up required and the EMS shut power off. I still don't get why that would be coded as a ground fault error but I'll be contacting the manufacturer later in the week to get more information.
__________________

2018 Jayco 28RLS
2012 F-250 6.2L 3.73
Equalizer Hitch
Yamaha 2400ISHC
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 11:41 AM   #20
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 6,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2edgesword View Post
Well I hooked up my generator to the trailer and ran all systems (separately microwave, electric water heater and A/C) and no ground fault errors. All wiring was the same and the only difference was the power source. I even use the 20 amp outlet on the generator. My only conclusion is as some alluded to is the house supply could not meet the A/C short term demand of 22A/110V start up required and the EMS shut power off. I still don't get why that would be coded as a ground fault error but I'll be contacting the manufacturer later in the week to get more information.
We appreciate the update on that. The code it set is interesting, but I'm glad it's nothing serious on your RV's end. Thanks.
__________________
Every day's a learning experience, though sometimes not what we expected.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.