Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2013, 09:53 PM   #31
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,369
Doug,

I've been following the thread.., but my electrical diagnostic abilities are limited so I decided to stay out of the kitchen.

Just thinking a little out side of the box here......;

* Before you order a new unit....., give Randy (tech support) at Best Converter a call first thing in the morning just to confirm that all the de-bug bases have been covered (sounds like they have).....: PH. 888-828-1893
http://www.bestconverter.com/

* IOTA Engineering, Tucson, AZ.: Technical Support/Service: John Kehm or Juan Barcena.....: PH. 520-294-3292

* Before ordering a new unit, identify the lowest price & best delivery, and then give Tweey's a call. Tell them your a JOF member and see if they can do anything for you on price and/or delivery......... : PH. 800-358-5894
http://tweetys.com/

Bob
__________________

__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:27 AM   #32
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Thanks Bob,
I'll give them a call in the morning and hit up Tweety's.

Thanks for the numbers.

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:28 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
Doug - Dont let Mr Randy sell you a WFCO WF8945 unit... They don't always work like you think they should.
Stick with IOTA DLS45/IQ4-PRogressive Dynamics PD4645 or PD9245... The PD's work everytime for me... You want to get the smart-mode charging technology unit. The PD's have four smart modes...BOOST, NORMAL, STORAGE and DESULFATION... With the pendant you can manually step thru these modes with the push of a button on the remote.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 11:58 AM   #34
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustic Eagle View Post
Doug,

I've been following the thread.., but my electrical diagnostic abilities are limited so I decided to stay out of the kitchen.

Just thinking a little out side of the box here......;

* Before you order a new unit....., give Randy (tech support) at Best Converter a call first thing in the morning just to confirm that all the de-bug bases have been covered (sounds like they have).....: PH. 888-828-1893
http://www.bestconverter.com/

* IOTA Engineering, Tucson, AZ.: Technical Support/Service: John Kehm or Juan Barcena.....: PH. 520-294-3292

* Before ordering a new unit, identify the lowest price & best delivery, and then give Tweey's a call. Tell them your a JOF member and see if they can do anything for you on price and/or delivery......... : PH. 800-358-5894
http://tweetys.com/

Bob
Bob, just a follow up note.
I checked with John at IOTA. He concurred with our trouble shooting and conclusions.
He did say that when I replace this unit, to take the cover off and see if the temp over-load has been melted.
He said it's a black disc the size of a penny. He said I could cut it out, solder and have as a backup.

I checked with Tweetys. They don't carry IOTA DSL45/IQ4 in stock. They would have to order.

I have a unit coming out of Boulder, CO and will be a same for same replacement.

I didn't want to buy a different unit as I have some tools, but not all my tools in case I needed to modify anything.

Thanks for all the help.

The battery charger is set up in my large grill cover and zipped up to protect from rain, but allow plenty of air flow around unit.

Everything is staying charged until I get my converter.

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:02 AM   #35
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,369
Doug,

Thanks for the follow-up.

Just a thought...., when you get ready to "Remove/Replace IOTA Converter/Charger", would you consider starting a new thread in this same forum (Tech Talk) walking us through the remove/replace process with pics? There always seems to be an interest in the mystery around converter/charger replacement, and/or upgrades.

You could also reference (link) this thread for diagnostic background.

I'm sure it would be of interest to many.

Bob
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:03 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Power247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Benson, NC
Posts: 170
Re: Help 12 Volt Issue - Confused as To Cause

Doug,
Good to see things are looking up. I have learned a ton from this thread. Thanks to everyone that contributed I feel much more capable of troubleshooting the 12v system of out TT.
__________________
2012 Jayco Jay Flight 267BHS - Equal-i-zer WDH
2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4 CTD
Me (Greg), DW & DDx2
Power247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:52 PM   #37
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Thanks Power247,
I learned a lot about the 12V too. Feel a little more educated now.
I was pretty good with 120V systems, but I didn't think the 12V would throw me a curve.

Always love to learn something new. There was a lot of great response to this thread.

I really appreciate the folks here.

Kind regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 08:26 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
Changing out the IOTA unit should be straight forward. Unplug the 120VAC plug from the receptacle... Remove the four wood screws on its four feet from the cabinet floor... Using the allen wrench remove the two large DC cables. Remove the Solid copper frame ground wire... Remove the IOTA unit from the cabinet floor... I guess this unit has the IQ4 plug-in remote SMART MODE controller unit so unplug that as well... Thats it...

When it blows the same fuses on the inside after you reinstall the new one and turn it on will be where the fun starts haha.... Hopefully it was just a component failure. Please replace the two DC CABLES in the right order - Don't reverse them... I would use tape and mark them + and - before taking them off... The two choices are if they are BLACK and WHITE cables BLACK goes to (+) and WHiTE goes to (-)... If they are RED and BLACK cables then RED goes to (+) and BLACK goes (-)... Hopefully they are wired using BLACK and WHITE cables like they are suppose to be using...

NOTE: I just looked again at your photos and see they are using BLACK and WHITE cables so you should be good to go here.... I see they mark the +12VDC connector with the RED MARK.

I have never dealt with the IOTA models but alot of folks on here like them... I would have replaced it with a PD4600 series or a PD9200 series but that is just me... When you first get the IOTA unit plug it into the 120VAC receptacle first and give it a field test. Should immediately put out 13.6VDC on the large DC cable terminals. Once you see it is working ok then procede with swaping the units out...

I think you are understanding that the IOTA IDP POWER DISTRIBUTION UNIT doesn't get touched at all. It stays in place. You are only replacing the IOTA DLS45/IQ4 unit. This should be the only unit you are buying as well...
Click image for larger version

Name:	1523-1403.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	7818

I know we have gone over this a few times but since those termnals are staring me in the face would run one last test just for me. haha... Use your MULTIMETER and place the "NEGATIVE METER LEAD" on the FRAME GROUND SOLID COPPER WIRE connection and the "POSITIVE METER LEAD" on the BLACK CABLE connection. You should read +5.5VDC or +battery voltage that may have charged up now with your new portable battery charger. The point here it must be the POSITIVE (+) DC voltage coming from your battery. The WHITE CABLE should be the NEGATIVE(-) reading or same as frame ground.

I'm still trying to figure why your IOTA unit blew up on you. Its not that old... If by any chance they are in reverse order. PLEASE DISCONNECT the two battery cables (BOTH WHITE AND BLACK CABLES) from the allen terminals of the IOTA UNIT. Then plug the IOTA UNIT back into its 120VAC receptacle and see if it RESETS itself. If it starts reading 13.6VDC then the IOTA unit is OK... After re-reading all of the previous comments I don't think I read where you ever completely disconnected the battery terminals from the IOTA unit. You always just made measurements.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:03 AM   #39
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Good points Roy.
I'll check both while I have them out on the picnic table before installing the new one.

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:18 PM   #40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
I don't want to confuse the issue and I am NOT an expert on 12 volt rv topics but it is my understanding that in a 12vdc systen the negative is BLACK. Positive may be either red or white (or I suppose, any other colours you choose). I noticed that in your pictures that the black conductor is connected to the lug with a red marker. That doesn't look correct to me. Check polarity with a meter as others have suggested and decide from there. It's possible that the PO reversed the connections, confusing them with ac colours. Just my tuppence. Good luck. Tony
__________________

DocSpratly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.