Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-16-2018, 05:53 PM   #1

Help! Solar confusion.

My ex husband (in a bizare act of generosity) gifted me with 4 250w solar panels.

I'm in a new (ish) 2018 TT and I plan to be off grid with it within the next 2 months.

Now that I have the panels what else do I need?

I know I need more batteries than the 2 my rv came with but what kind?

If I want to still be able to run a movie for my daughter on the tv, and run internet.....
I'm just super confused
Attached Thumbnails
20180416_164447.jpg   20180416_164436.jpg   20180416_164428.jpg  
FarQuackFarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:29 PM   #2

First off, I am just beginning to research as well so take this with a grain of salt. Here are some things:

- A controller is the interface between the panels and batteries. You’ll need one.
- 1000W total is a lot which may require a beefier than usual controller
- The wiring you are pointing to is gerneally used for small panels and the wire gauge is probably too small for your use
- An inverter is used to turn the DC power from your batteries to AC to run your TV, you’ll need one.
- In this YouTube video the guy users an all in one controller, charger, and inverter which seemed convenient.
- Here’s all you probably wanted to know about batteries. State of Charge: Your Camper/RV May Be Killing Your Battery Bank | PopUpBackpacker

Unless you know a fair bit about electricity there’s a lot to research before doing the self install.
Each is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 09:32 PM   #3

If anyone can recommend some brands that would rock
Old 04-16-2018, 09:59 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by FarQuackFarms View Post
If anyone can recommend some brands that would rock
I can recommend a Samlex inverter.