Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2015, 06:00 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
tugboat95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Bern
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKGperson View Post
Mike, hopefully you meant you swapped out just the outlet and not the circuit breaker. If you swapped out the 20A breaker with a 30A breaker you run the risk of overheating the 12 gauge wires which is a fire hazard. 30A circuits must be wired with 10 gauge wire minimum.

Ken
Have to agree. 30 amp has more to do with wiring than the type or shape of the outlet. My shop has two 30 amp circuits in it with necessary breakers and correct sized wire. What I did was wire into standard household outlets. I did this to allow mainly for an air compressor to operate while using power tools and such. I also plug my TT into the nearest outlet inside the door but the wiring can handle it. 30a is not determined by type or shape of plug. The size of the wire determines what amperage can be handled. Higher the amps as well as length of run bigger size wire. (10gauge for 30 amp over 25 foot run) Any 120v outlet can be put on the end.
__________________

tugboat95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:15 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: eolia
Posts: 45
Does any one know the maximum distance you can run the 10 guage underground wire.
__________________

__________________
2016 Primetime Crusader 315rlt
2014 Eagle HT 27.5 RLTS (Gone)
2015 Ram 3500 4x4 C.C. dually 6.7 Cummins
Diesel Mike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 08:56 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
Here's a recent thread highlighting why an owner might want to include a GFI for a home 30 amp RV recepatacle.

"The comments and replies here about trailer shocks and system problems are exactly why I recommend using GFI protection if anyone installs a home 30 amp trailer receptacle. Just because the majority of campgrounds don't install them ($$) and the NEC National Electrical Code doesn't mandate them doesn't mean that they aren't a good safety device for RV's."

Trailer frame electrified?
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f7...ied-27317.html

Often it is the family pet that is killed because their feet are directly on the ground with no insulating footwear.

vic

Quote:
Originally Posted by VicS1950 View Post
As has been posted here already, any tingling or shocks at all are dangerous and potentially lethal.

Mike Sokol has done some great research and provided good reference as to understanding your system. He highlights some of the dangers involved with RV power systems.

Every RV owner should review his site.

The Shocking Truth About RVs | No~Shock~Zone

The comments and replies here about trailer shocks and system problems are exactly why I recommend using GFI protection if anyone installs a home 30 amp trailer receptacle. Just because the majority of campgrounds don't install them ($$) and the NEC National Electrical Code doesn't mandate them doesn't mean that they aren't a good safety device for RV's.

vlc
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 09:36 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
tugboat95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Bern
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Mike1 View Post
Does any one know the maximum distance you can run the 10 guage underground wire.
A lot of variables in this. First you have to determine you load. In this case 30 amps. I do know that 10 gauge will deliver 30 amps for a run of 200 feet. I can't cite charts on here, I just know this from practical application. (My pool pump was installed with these specs) Now 50 amps at 200 feet would require bigger wire. Also 30 amps at 500 feet would likely require bigger wire. Its all in how much voltage loss occurs in the wire. This loss is also determined in type of wire, copper, aluminum, gold, etc. As well as the ambient temperature of the area. I hot factory would require shorter runs when compared to wire underground. I only have a phone app now but you can Google amp capacity charts and you should find a chart with your application. Being residential use the following in your search as it's the most common stuff used. copper wire , 10gauge, 30 amp load should give a max length.
tugboat95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:34 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
tugboat95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Bern
Posts: 403
www.nooutage.com has a good voltage drop calculator. It also explains how to take this drop in to account for size and length of wire. A little bit of drop is ok but not much. Punch in your specs and see what the drop is. If it's too high for the run either use bigger wire or shorten the run. Remember our 30 amp trailers rarely use a full 30 at any given time. Usually it would require all lights the microwave and the A.c. starting up at the same time. A running A.c. is only 14-16 amps. It will be higher when starting. Other words you might not need the full 30 depending on your setup. Its all in the total load at any given time. Unless you are running it 1/2 a mile down the road, 10 gauge should be ok for 99% of residential applications. I'm not an electrician but I am a USCG Licensed Chief Engineer. I know enough to work with it but I am not an expert in electricity. I install it but I don't design it. Your house, so double check everything.
tugboat95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:39 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: eolia
Posts: 45
Thanks Tugboat, I was looking at putting a pedestal which is about a 600ft run from the source. I will take a look at that link and get it figured out. Im guessing with a run that far I will most likely have to go with 8ga.
__________________
2016 Primetime Crusader 315rlt
2014 Eagle HT 27.5 RLTS (Gone)
2015 Ram 3500 4x4 C.C. dually 6.7 Cummins
Diesel Mike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 11:29 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Mike1 View Post
Thanks Tugboat, I was looking at putting a pedestal which is about a 600ft run from the source. I will take a look at that link and get it figured out. Im guessing with a run that far I will most likely have to go with 8ga.
Most likely higher than 8ga, could be 4ga depending on conditions. Don't want a voltage drop more than 10% max.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 12:38 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
tugboat95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Bern
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Mike1 View Post
Thanks Tugboat, I was looking at putting a pedestal which is about a 600ft run from the source. I will take a look at that link and get it figured out. Im guessing with a run that far I will most likely have to go with 8ga.
600 ft is pretty significant. Gonna have a lot of voltage drop. 8gauge probably won't do it either. You're looking at a significant investment. 8 yrs ago 10-3 underground wire cost me a dollar a foot. 200bucks just for wire. I'd call in a licensed guy and make sure the numbers work. You can always dig the trench and lay the wire he tells you to. Then call him in to do the actual hookup. You'll be surprised at just how easy it is once you figure out the correct numbers. Easy money for him and piece of mind for you.
tugboat95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 06:42 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKGperson View Post
Mike, hopefully you meant you swapped out just the outlet and not the circuit breaker. If you swapped out the 20A breaker with a 30A breaker you run the risk of overheating the 12 gauge wires which is a fire hazard. 30A circuits must be wired with 10 gauge wire minimum.
Ken
Yes, only the outlet. I know I'd have to upgrade the wire to safely install a 30A breaker. I just have to keep the load under 20A. Not hard with the old 18' TT. My new 23' may give me some grief.
__________________

__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.