Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2015, 11:47 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
CraigBorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Moncton
Posts: 16
Lightbulb Home 30 amp connection?

Anyone out there run a 30 amp circuit solely for their trailer/RV at home? I've priced out the materials and it's actually not too bad so I think I'm going to go ahead and do it.
I've sadly got a 40 to 50 foot run from my panel to driveway but I still think it will worth it to have a full 30 amp connecting there for the trailer
__________________

CraigBorden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 11:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
It will need to be a dedicated circuit at 30amps. None of your household wiring ( feeding outlets & lighting) are suitable for 30amps
__________________

__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 11:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dagwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ottawa - Canada Eh
Posts: 401
I just use my 15A service. I don't plan to live in the TT while at home and thus won't need the AC, but I've run my TV, Fridge and Lights off the 15A no problem.

When we get ready for trips, we fire up the fridge to get it cold before hitting the road.

Mind you I do realize you have a Much larger rig to power up.
__________________
Wayne, Kim, Mallory & Abby the Dog
2013 - Jayco Jayfeather - X20E
2012 - Toyota Tacoma DBLCB Sr5 with towing package
Equalizer 10k WD, Prodigy P3 Controller, TST TPMS

2012 - Jayco Sport 10 Popup - Traded
Dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 12:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Camping Couple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigBorden View Post
Anyone out there run a 30 amp circuit solely for their trailer/RV at home? I've priced out the materials and it's actually not too bad so I think I'm going to go ahead and do it.
I've sadly got a 40 to 50 foot run from my panel to driveway but I still think it will worth it to have a full 30 amp connecting there for the trailer
Go for it!! I did the same thing at my house 2 yrs ago. It was the best thing I ever did. You'll need the 30amp RV outlet, 10-2 wire and a single pole 30 amp breaker. I got all my materials at Lowes for less than $100.

Good luck
__________________

2015 Jayco 24FBS Elite Jay Flight
2013 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD 4X4 6.0L 3.73 Axle
HD Trailering Package with Integrated Brake Controller
Equal-i-zer Hitch 10k/1000
Camping Couple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 12:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
AKGperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 297
We have a 15A outlet box in the island (we have a circular driveway) in front of our house and I always plug in the TT when it's parked out front. It runs the AC fine without tripping the breaker even with a few lights and television on. I always wire outlets with 12 gauge wire so I may switch out the 15A breaker with a 20A if it starts tripping.
__________________
"We're all here because...we're not all here"

2015 White Hawk 25BHS w/Outdoor Kitchen
2015 GMC Sierra SLT 2500HD Z71 4x4 Duramax
1985 Coleman Sequoia Tent Trailer
AKGperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 12:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
I would install a GFCI even though many (most?) campground 30 amp receptacles don't have them. I haven't priced it lately, but 30 amp GFI breakers traditionally are pretty expensive. Some might tell you that a GFCI is not necessary, but it gives extra safety. Check your local codes.

A 30 amp receptacle is a one trick pony so not convenient for other cord connected tools like leaf blowers, etc. If the 30 amp receptacle isn't GFI protected you set up an unsafe condition if using a 30 amp to 20 amp adapter to feed cord connected devices.

As others have mentioned already, a 20 amp circuit is plenty even when running a single A/C unit.

I suggest that you consider mounting a pedestal fed by a 20 amp GFI receptacle. The 20 amp GFI feed thru receptacle can be mounted near your power panel to be kept inside out of the elements. You can then mount a weatherproof 20 amp duplex receptacle and 30 amp RV receptacle on the camper pedestal. That way you get the benefit of GFI protection, a handy pedestal duplex receptacle, and convenient RV plug-in. Of course you could also just use an adapter to avoid buying a 30 amp receptacle.

For a 40 - 50 foot run I would still use #10 awg wire if running the A/C is anticipated.

FWIW. vic
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 04:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,059
I've been wanting to do this for a long time. I don't see a downside to it.
__________________
Chuck
2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 05:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DieselX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winston Salem
Posts: 275
If you have the space in your breaker box for the extra breaker, it's fairly easy. If not, it's a hassle. I put a pad up at my father in laws house complete with a sewer connection, that was easy too. Just told him he needed a cleanout anyway lol.
__________________
2011 32bhds
TV 2002 Excursion 7.3 Few mods ;)

DieselX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 06:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
NC Roamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fuquay-Varina
Posts: 711
I had a contractor set a 30 amp pedestal, put in a dump station and tie it to the septic tank and set a yard hydrant by the RV pad. When I thought of all the aggravation it will save me over the next 20-25 years, it was an easy decision.
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpg  
__________________

2014 Greyhawk 31FK
2007 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100cc
NC Roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 07:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Newbie31UL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Delaware
Posts: 251
We already had a dedicated 30 amp RV plug in our garage when we bought our condo. Unfortunately, our recently purchased 32 ft Precept won't fit in our driveway. So it's pretty much useless to us. The RV would stick out into the street 4 ft. Oh well, the plug was already there, I didn't have to pay for it to be installed.
__________________

__________________
Rob & Rik & Gabby(French Bulldog)
Delaware, OH
2015 Precept 31UL (Ginger)
Newbie31UL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.