Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-28-2012, 11:40 PM   #1

how low does tank drain?

I have a 10 gal fresh water tank in my Swift SLX 145 RB. That isn't a lot, I know, but is part of the price of having a small trailer.

The tank measures about 12 inches high. When the water pump starts drawing air there's still 2-2.5 inches of water left in the tank. Is that typical? I understand there's probably a filter of some sort but 2+ inches seems a bit excessive.
Old 01-29-2012, 02:38 PM   #2

I have no experience with your trailer. But in general, and especially on a smaller tank, I would not be happy with a setup that left unusable the bottom two inches of the water supply. Since your unit is almost new, I think a talk with your dealer is in order. An answer of "They're all like that" is probably not the correct answer. Sounds to me that the supply tube needs to be about 2" longer.

By the way, on trailers I'm familiar with the screen filter is next to the pump and it's purpose is to keep larger particles from damaging the pump. I doubt that there is a filter in the tank.
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2021 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:33 PM   #3

Chances are that there is no "draw straw". I think you will find a nipple for the hose to attach. It will be on an end or a side so you can't get every drop out of it.
Life in the slow lane is still life.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:19 PM   #4

Decided to contact Jayco first and see what they had to say. Not the answer I wanted but at least they did answer and promptly.