Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Go Back   Jayco RV Owners Forum > Jayco Tech and Tow > Tech Talk
Click Here to Login

Old 03-26-2018, 07:38 AM   #1

Impact of wire gauge size between + battery stub and trailer

Hello,

I have 2 Deep cycle 6 volt GC batteries serially connected on the tongue of my trailer and I'm somewhat new to RVing (1 previous season) and electrical but learning through this forum.

Recently Jayco has been dealing with a recall regarding overcurrent protection on a large number of Jayco units. Their fix includes installation of an additional 30 amp fuse box mounted on the frame between the + stub of the battery by butt splicing wire between the previous cable and the new 30 amp fuse box. The butt spliced wire includes a 12" 12 - 14 AWG wire that is spliced to the existing 8-10 gauge + lead wire feeding the trailer and 48" 12-14AWG between the new fuse box and the battery

Now I have a 48" 12-14 AWG wire from the positive stub of the battery to this 30 amp fuse box which then goes to the 12" butt spliced 12-14 AWG wire connected to the 8-10 AWG wire going into the trailer.

Why does one utilize + lead cable sizes such 0-4AWG to connect inverters and solar controllers while Jayco utilizes 12-14AWG in this fix and then connects it to a 30A fuse box mounted on the frame??

Also, I thought 12-14AWG wire only handled 20A before heating up.
Andersen WDH
560 watts solar, roof mounted and portable suitcases
2000 watt PSW Inverter
OregonPerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 08:05 AM   #2

This is known as pushing the specs to the limit due to the cost of copper wire. In most cases, it works good enough but can be an issue when dry camping.