Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2015, 06:18 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Indoor lights are dim when plugged into a 30 amp

All of my lights are very dim when plugged into a 30 amp. My A/C, Microwave and Radio are all working fine. Very confused. Checked all circuits breakers and they were fine. Going now to replace all fuses. Any help would be awesome.
__________________

bearcatfan50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 06:32 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
My Frige is also not working.
__________________

bearcatfan50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 06:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,041
Have to ask the obvious. Do you have the battery installed? The converter uses the battery as part of it's "circuitry" so it is not going to full output. Converter could also be going bad.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 07:08 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Yes my battery is hooked up. I'm going to replace the battery today. Thanks Grumpy for your reply. Any recommendation on a good battery?
bearcatfan50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 07:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcatfan50 View Post
Yes my battery is hooked up. I'm going to replace the battery today. Thanks Grumpy for your reply. Any recommendation on a good battery?
Interstate has a good track record. If you converter can handle it I personally would spend the extra money on an AGM since they are maintenance free. You can get one at a good price at Sams or Wal-Mart.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 08:33 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 802
You could have a virtually dead battery and the lights should not be effected when hooked up to shore power. My first focus would be the ground wires to the frame. It sounds like there is a poor connection somewhere in your DC system.
Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 08:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
The symptoms here tells you the system is probably running off your battery and the converter/charger is NOT putting out 13.6VDC. Your 12VDC Power distribution Panel runs from both SHORE POWER through the Converter/Charger and the connected BATTERY at the same time.

I would definitely measure the DC OUTPUT VOLTAGE coming off the CONVERTER/CHARGER unit and make sure it is putting out 13.6VDC when plugged into the SHORE POWER. It could be two fuses on the FUSE PANEL that are off-set labeled REVERSE POLARITY may be blown.

What alot of folks do is measure the DC VOLTAGE at the battery terminals with SHORE POWER turned off and you will read 12.6-7VDC if the batteries are fully charged. If you read less than 12.0VDC then the battery is discharged. Then turn on SHORE POWER and the DC VOLTAGE at the battery terminals should jump up to 13.6VDC telling you all things are GO and all fuses/connections between the Converter/Charger and the Battery are good.

Roy Ken...
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 09:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
Does your RV normally connect to a 240 volt 50 amp service?

If yes, it sounds to me like whatever adapter you are using from 30 amp 120 volts to your 50 amp plug may not be feeding both legs of your 240 volt RV panel (Lights dim = no inverter power. Refrig not working is on same leg.).

A quick check would be to borrow a known working adapter and plug in with that. If it cures your problem then it is likely the adapter you are using.

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf

Added:

A diagram thanks to RoyBraddy.


Click image for larger version

Name:	3050ampRVDistribution.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	18019

There is more info posted by him here.

https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f5...tml#post299157

Another possibility is that your inverter and refrigerator share a common 120 volt breaker/circuit or even a common neutral wire which may have problems.


vic
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 07:42 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
Correction to my previous posting. "Inverter" should have been "Converter/charger" in two places. I was composing before the coffee had kicked in. vic

Quote:
Originally Posted by VicS1950 View Post
Does your RV normally connect to a 240 volt 50 amp service?

If yes, it sounds to me like whatever adapter you are using from 30 amp 120 volts to your 50 amp plug may not be feeding both legs of your 240 volt RV panel (Lights dim = no converter/charger power. Refrig not working is on the same 120 vac leg.).

A quick check would be to borrow a known working adapter and plug in with that. If it cures your problem then it is likely the 30 to 50 amp adapter that you are using.

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf

Added:

A diagram thanks to RoyBraddy.


Attachment 18019

There is more info posted by him here.

https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f5...tml#post299157

Another possibility is that your converter/charger and refrigerator share a common 120 volt breaker/circuit or even a common neutral wire which may have problems, but that trouble should remain whether on 30 amp or 50 amp service.


vic
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 09:19 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Thanks for the help guys
__________________

bearcatfan50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.