Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2014, 10:07 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Owen Stubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threebutchers View Post
Here's a link to the auction. Unfortunately, they shipped me a 3-wire instead of a 2-wire....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261215843753...84.m1497.l2649
I like this mod. What size fuse did you use?
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco 1207
Owen Stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:27 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owen Stubbs View Post
I like this mod. What size fuse did you use?
It still has a 7.5A....I've never gotten around to replacing it with a 0.5A
__________________

Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:17 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Owen Stubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threebutchers View Post
It still has a 7.5A....I've never gotten around to replacing it with a 0.5A
Yeah, I was thinking 1A. Regardless, great mod... will probably reach out to you soon for more info. Thanks again!
__________________
2008 Jayco 1207
Owen Stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:14 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
I use a .5 Amp on all my meters. Anything larger is like not having a fuse as the leads to the meter are 22+ gauge wire and will heat up and melt, with the possibility of the heated wires causing other issues.

Just my thoughts,

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:16 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owen Stubbs View Post
Yeah, I was thinking 1A. Regardless, great mod... will probably reach out to you soon for more info. Thanks again!
Purchase the "standard" blade-size fuse holder....the mini and large blade fuses don't come in ratings less than 5 or 10 amps. PM me anytime...
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:24 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
There are electronics stores online that sell the inline low amp fuse holders/fuses for electronics projects. If you have a Radio Shack (provided they have not gone under yet) near you they have these items in the store, if not they have them on their website.
Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:27 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Owen Stubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threebutchers View Post
Purchase the "standard" blade-size fuse holder....the mini and large blade fuses don't come in ratings less than 5 or 10 amps. PM me anytime...
Thanks again. Where exactly did you wire the meter? My pup uses the Elixir ELX-30 converter/charger. The 12 volt wires are as follows:

Blue - Pump, Ceiling lights
Brown - Fridge
Yellow - Patio Light & Furnace
Red - Charge Line/Positive lead of 12 volt battery (per manual)
White - Negative

Did you just tap one of the circuits (ie, blue brown or yellow above) or did your converter have some other output that you were able to connect to?
__________________
2008 Jayco 1207
Owen Stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:41 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central California
Posts: 2,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owen Stubbs View Post
Thanks again. Where exactly did you wire the meter? My pup uses the Elixir ELX-30 converter/charger. The 12 volt wires are as follows:

Blue - Pump, Ceiling lights
Brown - Fridge
Yellow - Patio Light & Furnace
Red - Charge Line/Positive lead of 12 volt battery (per manual)
White - Negative

Did you just tap one of the circuits (ie, blue brown or yellow above) or did your converter have some other output that you were able to connect to?
I want to add on to this question....

I see many DC Voltmeter installs are picking up the 12V near the converter, presuambly on the 12V in from the batteries (is that correct?). I would rather install mine near the control pannel that inlcudes the tank sensor guages, slide switches, water heater/water pump switches etc. Can I just pick up the 12V from a line behind there, not fish wire all the way to the converter, and still get an accurate reading of my batteries? That is where the factory installed analog led battery meter is -- I was thinking I could just pick up the 12V from there. Any thoughts?
__________________
2007 Chevy Duramax LMM/Allison
2012 Jay Flight 29QBH
2012 Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
clubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 11:54 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
I'm not sure that placing the meter "in front" of amp draw will vary readings enough to be concerned (although I wouldn't personally pull off a high draw circuit like lighting, etc.). If someone is looking for greater accuracy they should place the meter(s) at the battery(ies) and check readings when disconnected.

At the converter - the (7) pin TT splice is in front of my + lead source (red wire) and ground could only be pulled from ground lugs / frame at the converter.

Hope that helps you both
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 12:21 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Owen Stubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threebutchers View Post
I'm not sure that placing the meter "in front" of amp draw will vary readings enough to be concerned (although I wouldn't personally pull off a high draw circuit like lighting, etc.). If someone is looking for greater accuracy they should place the meter(s) at the battery(ies) and check readings when disconnected.

At the converter - the (7) pin TT splice is in front of my + lead source (red wire) and ground could only be pulled from ground lugs / frame at the converter.

Hope that helps you both
Then I am completely confused as to how you wired yours.

I don't want to know just the voltage of the battery... I thought yours was wired in such a way as to show voltage coming from TV when connected, or from converter when using shore power. Are you getting that solely by connecting to the battery + and ground?
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco 1207
Owen Stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.