Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2023, 08:42 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Bend
Posts: 3
Arrow Jayco Eagle Inverter Question

2023 Jayco Eagle 330rsts



My Eagle came with solar and an inverter that powers cretin plugs throughout the trailer, There is what I understand a transfer switch that will direct power from shore or from the inverter but when the inverter is on it only powers cretin plugs is there a way to have the inverter power all the plugs if so what would it require to make happen?
GreenGecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2023, 08:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 4,309
Your inverter has only so much power rating. For example, 1,000 watts or 2,000 watts. If it was wired to the whole system it would be easily overloaded.
Generally, they are wired to things that are often wanted/needed while camping off grid. For example, TV outlet, sometimes microwave or counter top, bedroom for CPAP machines.

Even with these limited outlets being powered up you could overload and blow the fuses or breakers on the unit by trying to microwave while you made coffee at the same time and watching tv.

Plus it would cost more, and Jayco never does stuff that costs more.
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit L 5.7L V8
Andersen WDH hitch, Renogy 100 AH Lithium &
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2023, 12:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,064
Your RV has a 50 amp 120/240 volt system. Typical size generator for that system is 5500 watts. So, assume a minimum of a 5500 watt inverter. Now this inverter must be able to pass through 120/240 volts and also produce 120/240 volts. So, you may need two inverters in order to do that. It would be very involved to change what you have to what you are asking as well as pricey! And, you would most likely have to double or triple your battery capacity depending on AC and appliances connected.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2023, 04:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TxLoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,200
I donít know about the newer Eagles but my 2019 came with a 1200W inverter. Only outlet I could find thatís powered is the residential fridge outlet. Do the new ones have a larger inverter to more outlets? Would be nice.
__________________
2024 Grand Design 310GK
2022 Chevy 3000HD Dmax
TxLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2023, 04:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 15,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxLoser View Post
I donít know about the newer Eagles but my 2019 came with a 1200W inverter. Only outlet I could find thatís powered is the residential fridge outlet. Do the new ones have a larger inverter to more outlets? Would be nice.
If they have the solar package they do.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2023, 09:26 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenGecko View Post
2023 Jayco Eagle 330rsts



My Eagle came with solar and an inverter that powers cretin plugs throughout the trailer, There is what I understand a transfer switch that will direct power from shore or from the inverter but when the inverter is on it only powers cretin plugs is there a way to have the inverter power all the plugs if so what would it require to make happen?
I was actually just discussing this in a thread I started. I was after doing the same thing.
A lot of people went straight too, "you need to get a new inverter and batteries". I took the cheaper route. I removed the passthrough cable that fed the inverter prep 15 amp breaker. (It is used as a pass through feature so that is why it will only given power to the TV's, outside kitchen fridge, and inside fridge). I ran a 6/3 + 8/1 cable to the factory inverter. I combined the black and red (the two hot wires) at a junction box right at the back of the inverter. I then ran that to a transfer switch. I also wired the converter to the shore power side of the transfer switch with its own 15amp breaker/ small breaker box. That way I don't have to remember to flip that breaker.
This only cost me about $250 and now I am set up for a future larger inverter and battery bank.

I know it is only an 1800w inverter (which is the same size you have) but I don't need a lot of power. Just trying to run a baby monitor in the mid bunk and prep for a bigger inverter in the future. I also didn't want to run a cable around the outside of the rig.

It works great. Since we are not trying to run AC or the microwave of the inverter our next upgrade if probably a battery shunt/ monitor, DC to DC converter and lithium batteries.

Here is the link to my thread. There are pictures at the end.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f...ts-104094.html
Hope this helps.
FordRanger89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2023, 02:04 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Colorado
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxLoser View Post
I don’t know about the newer Eagles but my 2019 came with a 1200W inverter. Only outlet I could find that’s powered is the residential fridge outlet. Do the new ones have a larger inverter to more outlets? Would be nice.
I have the 330RSTS (mine is a 2021) with the 1200 watt inverter for the fridge. It also does light up the plugs on either side of the back couch and the outlets on both sides of the bed (I suspect there is one near the TV too, but haven't looked hard as there are a couple outlets behind it). I assume this is the advertised "CPAP Ready".

I'd check those plugs to see if maybe it already does work.

The part I hate the most is that the circuit breaker for the fridge does absolutely nothing to cut the power when on the inverter. It always has power when the inverter is on... so it makes me wonder what protection is there between the inverter and the plugs (I'm doubting none except for overload protection).

oh and I don't have solar at all... just "solar ready"
waynehead99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, jayco eagle, power plugs, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.