Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2019, 10:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Latest results with Honda Eu2200 and 15k btu AC

Good morning everyone,

Since this question is asked alot here are my results

I have a Octane SL 272 that has 2 15k BTU AC units in it. I've installed a Mcro Air easy start on the Main AC unit for the trailer.

With my generator running on Economy Mode I can use the main AC unit and the generator doesn't kick out of econo mode. I can also while the main AC is running turn the fan on high on the AC unit in the bedroom and the generator stays in econo mode.

I've ordered a 2nd Micro air for the AC unit in the bedroom(I didnt know it had an AC unit in there before) and I will see what this little genny can do. Im thinking it will handle both running the AC with Econo mode turned off.
__________________

Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 01:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Oh come on people 46 views and nobody commenting Sheesh
__________________

Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:05 PM   #3
Member
 
AmericanBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doonz View Post
Oh come on people 46 views and nobody commenting Sheesh
Not really sure what the answered question was but ok... I'll comment.
I'm running my single 15k BTU AC with a DuroMax XP3150is generator. Works well and is very quiet... especially on ECO mode. I paid around $800 for it brand new a few years ago.
__________________
-
-

2019 F250 XLT Premium 4X4 CCSB 6.2 3:73's
2019 Jayco Octane 222 SL
2016 HD Dyna S and 2019 HD Softail Slim
AmericanBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
See now were talking.

Do you have an Micro Air easy start installed? Or some hard cap for the initial startup?
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,363
Well - it will be interesting to see if it can run both A/C concurrently with an EasyStart installed on each one. Looking at the specs for the EU2200i it shows a max output of 18.3 amps. I know my single 13.5K A/C was pulling a steady 12 amps once started so it seems like even with the EasyStarts this might be a stretch. But let us know how it turns out.....
__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Blue Ox SwayPro 15K/1500
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttavasc View Post
Well - it will be interesting to see if it can run both A/C concurrently with an EasyStart installed on each one. Looking at the specs for the EU2200i it shows a max output of 18.3 amps. I know my single 13.5K A/C was pulling a steady 12 amps once started so it seems like even with the EasyStarts this might be a stretch. But let us know how it turns out.....
That seems very high compared to what I saw.

My trailer was at 29'C and I set the AC to 18'C. My fluke meter never went above 7amps when running 1 AC.

The easy start is phenomenal. The ac compressor firing up doesn't even make a sound. The only way to know its on is the air is super cold coming out of it.
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doonz View Post
That seems very high compared to what I saw.

My trailer was at 29'C and I set the AC to 18'C. My fluke meter never went above 7amps when running 1 AC.

The easy start is phenomenal. The ac compressor firing up doesn't even make a sound. The only way to know its on is the air is super cold coming out of it.
Mine is a Coleman Mach 3 48000-series with specs that show a running watt load when cooling of ~1650 watts or about 13.5 amps. Full-load amps when cooling is listed as 15.3 amps. I was getting my amps used from the display on my Progressive EMS unit. I did have the fan on the A/C set to Auto/High and nothing else turned on. I let it cycle a few times to confirm that the generator was able to reliably restart it again from the Econ mode, which it did just fine with. I'm running a Champion 2000watt inverter.
__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Blue Ox SwayPro 15K/1500
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttavasc View Post
Mine is a Coleman Mach 3 48000-series with specs that show a running watt load when cooling of ~1650 watts or about 13.5 amps. Full-load amps when cooling is listed as 15.3 amps. I was getting my amps used from the display on my Progressive EMS unit. I did have the fan on the A/C set to Auto/High and nothing else turned on. I let it cycle a few times to confirm that the generator was able to reliably restart it again from the Econ mode, which it did just fine with. I'm running a Champion 2000watt inverter.
Interesting.
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:57 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 237
I have a boost capacitor on my 15K air conditioning unit. Before it would not start up on a single EU2000i, but now it works just fine.


Of course, I wouldn't try running the microwave while the AC is going...
__________________
2012 RAM 2500 Megacab Laramie Diesel
2016 Jayco Eagle 284BHBE
ProPride 3P WDH
ecksdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:19 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecksdude View Post
I have a boost capacitor on my 15K air conditioning unit. Before it would not start up on a single EU2000i, but now it works just fine.


Of course, I wouldn't try running the microwave while the AC is going...
I was pondering between that and an easystart... but im a gadget nerd so I went with the easystart
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 237
Looking it up, it seems to me to be a similar device as the electronic version of the hard-start capacitor (which is what I used), just in (frankly better) packaging.


The price though... ouch! I don't think I paid even half that much for what I got...
__________________
2012 RAM 2500 Megacab Laramie Diesel
2016 Jayco Eagle 284BHBE
ProPride 3P WDH
ecksdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecksdude View Post
Looking it up, it seems to me to be a similar device as the electronic version of the hard-start capacitor (which is what I used), just in (frankly better) packaging.


The price though... ouch! I don't think I paid even half that much for what I got...
Its a softstart very different from a Hardcap
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 04:09 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecksdude View Post
Looking it up, it seems to me to be a similar device as the electronic version of the hard-start capacitor (which is what I used), just in (frankly better) packaging.


The price though... ouch! I don't think I paid even half that much for what I got...
This link explains the how the EasyStart differs from a hard-start capacitor. In fact, in their installation video they tell you that if your unit has an OEM hard-start capacitor you should remove it when installing the EasyStart.

How EasyStart Works
__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Blue Ox SwayPro 15K/1500
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doonz View Post
Good morning everyone,

Since this question is asked alot here are my results

I have a Octane SL 272 that has 2 15k BTU AC units in it. I've installed a Mcro Air easy start on the Main AC unit for the trailer.

With my generator running on Economy Mode I can use the main AC unit and the generator doesn't kick out of econo mode. I can also while the main AC is running turn the fan on high on the AC unit in the bedroom and the generator stays in econo mode.

I've ordered a 2nd Micro air for the AC unit in the bedroom(I didnt know it had an AC unit in there before) and I will see what this little genny can do. Im thinking it will handle both running the AC with Econo mode turned off.
I have a Yamaha 2200 and have been told it will start my 13500 btu AC if I run the AC fan first? Am I going to blow it up if I try or should I just get a soft start as you did?
Chet & Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:58 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chet & Marie View Post
I have a Yamaha 2200 and have been told it will start my 13500 btu AC if I run the AC fan first? Am I going to blow it up if I try or should I just get a soft start as you did?
You should be able to run it without running the fan first but all of your other draw will have to be off.

Its the initial draw that will trip out the generator.

Im a firm believe in the microair easy start but I do camp with people who have just added hard start capacitors and their able to start up their ac running Honda eu2000's

Edit: Well its a 2200 you should be able just to fire it up cause i believe surge on it is 27amps which would be more than enough

EDIT@ silly typing mistakes
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:05 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 371
Thanks Doonz
__________________
May The Gods protect our little camper from Ghosties, Ghoulies, Long Legged Beasties and Things That Go Bump In The Night.
An old Scottish Prayer.
2017 Jay Feather 23 RLSW TT. 2014 Silverado 1500 w/tow package. Curt WDH. Samlex M135 solar panel kit. Yamaha 2000 generator.
Chet & Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:09 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
See now this threads a bumping!!
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:40 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Sandy, Utah (Salt Lake City)
Posts: 1,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doonz View Post
That seems very high compared to what I saw.

My trailer was at 29'C and I set the AC to 18'C. My fluke meter never went above 7amps when running 1 AC.

The easy start is phenomenal. The ac compressor firing up doesn't even make a sound. The only way to know its on is the air is super cold coming out of it.
What is the ambient temperature the Generator is running at over the highest ambient temperature. I can understand 7A at running at low ambient. What is the start load... and show us the Fluke settings you have it at? Pictures? Are you measuring the compressor current??? show us what wire you are measuring please. STGTBT
__________________
Steve & Stacy,
Oliver, Ned and Ellie ( Yellow Lab, Red Lab, Border Collie/Boxer)
2015 Seneca 36FK
2007 Toyota FJC - on the trailer
2020 Coors Light - in the fridge

SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 10:01 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by SloPoke View Post
What is the ambient temperature the Generator is running at over the highest ambient temperature. I can understand 7A at running at low ambient. What is the start load... and show us the Fluke settings you have it at? Pictures? Are you measuring the compressor current??? show us what wire you are measuring please. STGTBT
Now were getting geeky.

Genny was on my driveway it was around 25'c.

Start load never went above 13 amps including the inrush.

I have a Fluke 381 with remote display. This model captures inrush voltage so I can see exactly what the start up current is. (Sweet meter around 800 bux)

I put the meter on L1 coming in to the panel.

Sorry didnt think to take pictues
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 10:21 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,363
You might want to check out this section of the Micro-Air RV installation video where they talk about accurately measuring the startup load. They had to custom build a meter specifically to capture the high startup load due to the extremely short duration (characterized as about 100ms in duration). This starts at 10:35 in the install video:

__________________

__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Blue Ox SwayPro 15K/1500
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×