Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2019, 10:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Latest results with Honda Eu2200 and 15k btu AC

Good morning everyone,

Since this question is asked alot here are my results

I have a Octane SL 272 that has 2 15k BTU AC units in it. I've installed a Mcro Air easy start on the Main AC unit for the trailer.

With my generator running on Economy Mode I can use the main AC unit and the generator doesn't kick out of econo mode. I can also while the main AC is running turn the fan on high on the AC unit in the bedroom and the generator stays in econo mode.

I've ordered a 2nd Micro air for the AC unit in the bedroom(I didnt know it had an AC unit in there before) and I will see what this little genny can do. Im thinking it will handle both running the AC with Econo mode turned off.
__________________

Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 01:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Oh come on people 46 views and nobody commenting Sheesh
__________________

Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:05 PM   #3
Member
 
AmericanBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doonz View Post
Oh come on people 46 views and nobody commenting Sheesh
Not really sure what the answered question was but ok... I'll comment.
I'm running my single 15k BTU AC with a DuroMax XP3150is generator. Works well and is very quiet... especially on ECO mode. I paid around $800 for it brand new a few years ago.
__________________

2016 F150 2.7 4X4 CrewCab ShortBed 6Speed 3:55's
2019 Jayco Octane 222 SL
2016 HD Dyna S and 2019 HD Softail Slim
AmericanBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
See now were talking.

Do you have an Micro Air easy start installed? Or some hard cap for the initial startup?
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,300
Well - it will be interesting to see if it can run both A/C concurrently with an EasyStart installed on each one. Looking at the specs for the EU2200i it shows a max output of 18.3 amps. I know my single 13.5K A/C was pulling a steady 12 amps once started so it seems like even with the EasyStarts this might be a stretch. But let us know how it turns out.....
__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Blue Ox SwayPro 15K/1500
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttavasc View Post
Well - it will be interesting to see if it can run both A/C concurrently with an EasyStart installed on each one. Looking at the specs for the EU2200i it shows a max output of 18.3 amps. I know my single 13.5K A/C was pulling a steady 12 amps once started so it seems like even with the EasyStarts this might be a stretch. But let us know how it turns out.....
That seems very high compared to what I saw.

My trailer was at 29'C and I set the AC to 18'C. My fluke meter never went above 7amps when running 1 AC.

The easy start is phenomenal. The ac compressor firing up doesn't even make a sound. The only way to know its on is the air is super cold coming out of it.
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doonz View Post
That seems very high compared to what I saw.

My trailer was at 29'C and I set the AC to 18'C. My fluke meter never went above 7amps when running 1 AC.

The easy start is phenomenal. The ac compressor firing up doesn't even make a sound. The only way to know its on is the air is super cold coming out of it.
Mine is a Coleman Mach 3 48000-series with specs that show a running watt load when cooling of ~1650 watts or about 13.5 amps. Full-load amps when cooling is listed as 15.3 amps. I was getting my amps used from the display on my Progressive EMS unit. I did have the fan on the A/C set to Auto/High and nothing else turned on. I let it cycle a few times to confirm that the generator was able to reliably restart it again from the Econ mode, which it did just fine with. I'm running a Champion 2000watt inverter.
__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Blue Ox SwayPro 15K/1500
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttavasc View Post
Mine is a Coleman Mach 3 48000-series with specs that show a running watt load when cooling of ~1650 watts or about 13.5 amps. Full-load amps when cooling is listed as 15.3 amps. I was getting my amps used from the display on my Progressive EMS unit. I did have the fan on the A/C set to Auto/High and nothing else turned on. I let it cycle a few times to confirm that the generator was able to reliably restart it again from the Econ mode, which it did just fine with. I'm running a Champion 2000watt inverter.
Interesting.
Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:57 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 237
I have a boost capacitor on my 15K air conditioning unit. Before it would not start up on a single EU2000i, but now it works just fine.


Of course, I wouldn't try running the microwave while the AC is going...
__________________
2012 RAM 2500 Megacab Laramie Diesel
2016 Jayco Eagle 284BHBE
ProPride 3P WDH
ecksdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:19 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecksdude View Post
I have a boost capacitor on my 15K air conditioning unit. Before it would not start up on a single EU2000i, but now it works just fine.


Of course, I wouldn't try running the microwave while the AC is going...
I was pondering between that and an easystart... but im a gadget nerd so I went with the easystart
__________________

Doonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.