Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2024, 01:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: South Jordan
Posts: 22
Move refrigerator to AC through my inverter

I have a 1000 watt inverter with a propane and 110AC refrigerator. I want to move my refrigerator to the inverter. When I opened up the panel there was a horse shoe device at the bottom with the white leads tied to it. I have never seen this before. Can anyone tell what this is and how I can connect my leads to it?
Thank you,
Allan
AllanBaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2024, 03:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanBaird View Post
I have a 1000 watt inverter with a propane and 110AC refrigerator. I want to move my refrigerator to the inverter. When I opened up the panel there was a horse shoe device at the bottom with the white leads tied to it. I have never seen this before. Can anyone tell what this is and how I can connect my leads to it?
Thank you,
Allan
Pics would help. What panel?
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2024, 03:35 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: South Jordan
Posts: 22
Breaker panel,
I will work on pics
AllanBaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 06:55 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: South Jordan
Posts: 22
Here is a pic of what I was talking about.


Click image for larger version

Name:	New Picture.png
Views:	9
Size:	125.2 KB
ID:	93728
AllanBaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 10:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,435
Is that in the electrical panel or some other enclosure? Electrical components are required to have some markings on them. What does it say on the label? If nothing, how about the plastic on the back of it?
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 12:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: South Jordan
Posts: 22
It is in the electrical panel, no markings on the plastic, the label is faded.
AllanBaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 04:14 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: South Jordan
Posts: 22
More pictures

Click image for larger version

Name:	image001.png
Views:	4
Size:	341.4 KB
ID:	93749

Click image for larger version

Name:	image003.png
Views:	4
Size:	471.0 KB
ID:	93750

Click image for larger version

Name:	image005.png
Views:	8
Size:	227.0 KB
ID:	93751
AllanBaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 04:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,435
That is a relay used for control. It is used to control something that is 120 volts. If you have the cover of the panel off, and start using what ever you have that controls something that is 120 volts, it will click. Another way is follow the black wire that goes to the electrical panel, find out which breaker, and if labeled, it will tell you what it controls.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 04:39 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: South Jordan
Posts: 22
The black wire goes to the refrigerator. I was looking for the white wire so I could wire it to the inverter.
AllanBaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 06:15 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,435
Ok, got it. Without seeing everything, maybe this will help. I do not understand what the relay is doing, so, I do not know what the control is doing to know where the inverter. So, you must figure out what activates the relay.
So, it could be that the inverter is fed by the breaker, and the battery, then goes to the relay. Or it could be the inverter is fed by the relay and battery and the inverter feeds your relay current output.
If you find the cable going to the refrigerator, the black should be coming from the relay and the white neutral from the neutral bar.
The only way that relay makes sense is if it makes the 16 volts dc and needs the neutral for the internal power supply.
Hopefully, someone that is a controls person will respond soon. I did power and didn’t l8ke controls.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.