Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-29-2019, 12:49 PM   #1

Newbie water question

I'm pretty new to campers. We have a 2016 174BH that we love. We have had it out a few times already, but only to sites with full hookups.

However, the last time we had it out we went to a site with only electric. No big deal, we thought. We can just toss some water in the FW tank and use it. We thought.

We had a 7 gallon water tote that we used to put some water in. Yes, we only put 7 gallons in it. Then, we went inside and turned on the pump switch. We could hear the pump humming, but no water would come out. Granted, we only turned it on for a few seconds, but I would expect to hear something. My father (who has a large fancy camper) said it should be just a couple of seconds and I should have water.

I re-read the manual, and from what I understand, the FW tank needs to pressurized before water comes out. Sort of like how an air compressor works. Do I understand that correctly? Am I just not being patient enough? Do I need to let that pump run for a bit before getting water running? Any insight would be really helpful.
Leaf_eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 01:01 PM   #2

There is a valve to turn near your water pump. It lets the plumbing that runs down into the fresh water tank bring water up when the pump kicks on. You close that valve when your on city water because there’s no need to draw water from the FW tank and it prevents back pressure in the lines hurting the pump seals. Find your pump, find the inline valve next to it and turn it. Now kick in your pump and water should begin to flow. Nothing about the FW tank is pressurized, it’s a simple tank with a hose coming down into it from the on demand pump mounted inside your trailer.
430 amp/hr 6v battery bank
1000w Renogy hard wired inverter
2011 F350 Lariat, DWR 4x4, 6.7 turbo diesel