Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2022, 02:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
No 12 vdc power after changing to a new house battery

2005 greyhawk SS31.
I put a new house battery in, prior to that, all electical was functioning normally. Ater the new battery was installed, None of the 12 vdc systems are working ie, lights, fridge (controller) water pump etc. the battery disconnect switch is not switching as I dont hear the clunk like I did prior to battery change.
New battery is fully charged and all connection were checked. I have power to the 12 vdc fuses.

Help plz
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 04:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Clarence
Posts: 186
Battery to disconnect is where I would look first. You're SURE proper polarity?
__________________
2018 octane SL 222.
2021 4x4 5.3 silverado
Jeffp60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 04:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 2,842
Jayco has a habit of not identifying all positive connections as such. I have black conductors that have to be hooked to the positive terminal. Did you take a "before" picture you can reference now?
__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 04:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 3,180
Have you checked the fuse or breaker near the battery box and at the converter? Since you are plugged in the converter should be energizing the circuit even if battery was dead.

Also, double check polarity and that the connections are clean and free of corrosion plus tight.
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit L 5.7L V8
Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
Andersen WDH hitch
Dometic Milenco Aero mirrors
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 07:07 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Additionally, can anyone tell me where the shutoff relay device? Would it normally be near the house battery location?
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 07:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,180
It was usually located on the side or rear of the battery compartment
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 10:40 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
FOUND IT! It was a faulty fuse just off the hiuse battery with a short cable to a solenoid. I guess the solinoid is the battery cutoff device. The fuse had a loose terminal bolt (not the nut) which cause an intermittant situation. When I installed the new battery, it jarred the fuse.

There is not an amperage stamped on the old fuse so I dont know what size to put in. I will try 50 amps.

Thanks to the brain trust for the help!
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 11:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,180
If it's a spade fuse you can go by color.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 03:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Spring
Posts: 783
Mine trailer has a Red 30A blade fuse for protection.
__________________
2016 Starcraft AR One 18QB
2016 Colorado LT 3.6L V6 Ext. Cab
16WhiteColly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 05:34 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16WhiteColly View Post
Mine trailer has a Red 30A blade fuse for protection.
Thank you, i guess thatís what Iíll use since both our rigs are 30 amps.

My fuse was a plastic box 1x2 inch with bolts for the connectors.

Thanks to all helpers.
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 07:20 PM   #11
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 11,229
Does it look like this:

https://www.amazon.com/uxcell-Strip-.../dp/B07NRKRMD8

Or maybe this style:

https://www.amazon.com/RENOGY-30A-AN...2209560&sr=8-6
__________________
Moderator
Every day's a learning experience, though sometimes not what we expected.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
1 Spoiled Dog (RIP Bartley)
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 04:05 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Looks like this in the attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
C719BDD1-F426-409B-B4EB-2B14113DC58F.jpg  
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 07:13 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve11669 View Post
Looks like this in the attachment.
That's an auto reset circuit breaker, better than a fuse.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 07:42 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
That's an auto reset circuit breaker, better than a fuse.
Good to hear. The one in the picture was off the web, the one I put in was like that but 50 amps with mounting feet. I guessed at what amperage to use. I probably should have used a 30 amp but I had already installed it (before getting the thread above about the 30 amp fuse used in the trailer). Its not to easy to change out now. What do you think about that?
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 08:45 AM   #15
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 19,925
I would put a 30a protection if that was the original. Even my 50a rig has a 30a battery fuse.
__________________
Moderator
2011- 351RLTS Eagle, MorRyde suspension/pin box,
2017- F350 6.7 PSD Lariat FX4,SRW, SB,CC
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Andersen Ultimate 3220
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 09:04 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve11669 View Post
What do you think about that?
As Norty said, go back to the 30. The wire that is being used is only sized for 30 amps and not 50.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 03:27 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
I would put a 30a protection if that was the original. Even my 50a rig has a 30a battery fuse.
I dont know what the original was cause it wasnt marked. I will put a 30 amp in, makes sense.

Thx
Steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:20 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Memphis
Posts: 336
Most Likely installed Reverse polarity and blew the two 30a Main Reverse fuses at Power Center? If battery cable BLACK/WHITE, THEN BLACK=POS+, but if RED/BLACK, BLACK=NEG- Verify by following cable to frame connection or device?
thenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.