Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2015, 06:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Alliecaet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Full Time RV
Posts: 18
No power to thermostat

So I decided to upgrade the thermostat and now have no power to the thermostat. I've tried 3 different thermostats. Red (12v Pos.) wire connects to RH, Green (High fan) to G. White (heat) to W, Y (Compressor) to Y and nothing works. I also have a Grey (Lo Fan) and Blue (12v neg). I cannot get either the heat or the a/c to come on. When we test each of the wires none show hot. We have no fuses that we can find that are blown.

Any help please?

Thanks in advance
T
__________________

__________________
Teresa & Tom.
Toyota Tundra Beast - 2010 Jayflight 22FB Belle Mouse 2012 Mazda 2
Truffles- Border mix, Autumn Leaf - Shar pei mix, Chloe Dandie Dinmont mix.
Simon - Citron crested "Too"
Alliecaet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 08:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
Gently pull the hot wire out as far as you can. Sometimes there is another in-line fuse .
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 08:27 AM   #3
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
I will bet there is a blown fuse somewhere.

I blew one when I changed mine out but racking my brain I can not remember where it was located.

A buddy was changing out his analog to digital and fried the new thermostat by reversing the 12v dc wires so be careful when you get the voltage back.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 08:35 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
First double-check that the always hot lead is dead vs. ground using a VOM or DVM.
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 09:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
Try connecting the two wires by hand and see if the furnace starts.

If that does not work, remove the cover on the furnace. Your furnace might be different than mine, but behind the metal cover is a reset switch, flip it and see if that helps.

Do you know the make and model furnace you have?
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 09:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
Just reread your post.
Thermostat (Coleman) should be
White from thermostat to blue for furnace
Blue from thermostat to white (RV ground)
Red to red
Yellow to compressor
Grey to low fan
Green to high fan

There is also a blue in the a/c wiring cable that goes to white.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 01:13 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Alliecaet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Full Time RV
Posts: 18
Thanks everyone. I'll look into these and come back with answers/ for more help. I have called a professional but they haven't called back yet.
Yes for sure there is no positive wire. We've checked them all. I pulled the circuit board from the a/c and I get power to the circuit board but I can't find where it's supposed to come out from.. But I didn't think this would affect the heat. I'm thinking blown fuse too but can't find one. I'll pull out the wires farther. I have 3 thermostats so if I ruined the first one, one of the other two should still be working. I would think. Oh, I even tried to reconnect the old thermostat and it's not working either. So now that's 4 thermostats.
__________________
Teresa & Tom.
Toyota Tundra Beast - 2010 Jayflight 22FB Belle Mouse 2012 Mazda 2
Truffles- Border mix, Autumn Leaf - Shar pei mix, Chloe Dandie Dinmont mix.
Simon - Citron crested "Too"
Alliecaet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 01:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
If you've got no always hot lead, you've got to troubleshoot the RV's wiring to get that established first!
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 08:55 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Alliecaet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Full Time RV
Posts: 18
Thanks everyone!!! I don't have free internet here. I blew the circuit board, replaced that, picked a thermostat from the 4 I had pushed the reset switch on the furnace and all works GREAT!!!
__________________

__________________
Teresa & Tom.
Toyota Tundra Beast - 2010 Jayflight 22FB Belle Mouse 2012 Mazda 2
Truffles- Border mix, Autumn Leaf - Shar pei mix, Chloe Dandie Dinmont mix.
Simon - Citron crested "Too"
Alliecaet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.