Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2015, 02:02 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 20
Plug Camper into home outlet - help

We just purchased a 2015 Jayco 264BHW and have it sitting in the driveway at home. I bought a starter pack from the dealership and it came with a converter so I can plug the camper in a regular house outlet.

If I do this will it help charge the battery?

What all will it let me run in the camper and what should I not run in the camper. Should I even keep it plugged in?

I am new to all of this so any insight would be great! Our camper is setup for 30 amps

Thank you.

Jim
__________________

BerryJN3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scoutr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bartonville
Posts: 509
Ideally you should plug into a 30 amp receptacle on your house. But not too many homes have 30 amp service to electrical outlets in the garage or outdoors. Most are 20 amp and some may even be only 15 amp.

20 amp should be OK, as long as you don't run the A/C, in my opinion. (I've done it with no problems for many years.) If you do run the A/C on a 20 amp circuit, you run the risk of overloading the circuit, at the least, and damaging your A/C, at the worst. (It's not good on the compressor motor when it tries to draw more than it's being fed.)

And yes - even with 20 amp service your trailer's battery will be charged.
__________________

__________________

Scoutr2 (Mike)
2015 Jay Flight 32RLDS Elite
2012 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab LTZ (6.6L Duramax/Allison)
Equalizer Hitch (1200# bars)
Scoutr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,060
X2! I've been doing this for many years. So long as you don't run the AC you'll be fine.
__________________
Chuck
2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:35 PM   #4
Member
 
thodgson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 72
Not only will it provide a trickle charge to your battery, but it you're plugged in before a trip you can run your frig and cool it down before packing it for a trip.
__________________

'12 F250 Ford Super Crew
'15 Jayco Eagle 338RETS
thodgson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:47 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 20
That is very good to hear, thank you for the quick replies!

How do I find out how many amps my home outlets are?
BerryJN3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scoutr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bartonville
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerryJN3 View Post
That is very good to hear, thank you for the quick replies!

How do I find out how many amps my home outlets are?
The easiest way is to check the breaker to the circuit in question. It will be marked. If that's not possible, a Volt-Ohm meter set to check amperage will do it, but you gotta know what you're doing there. And most folks don't have one.
__________________

Scoutr2 (Mike)
2015 Jay Flight 32RLDS Elite
2012 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab LTZ (6.6L Duramax/Allison)
Equalizer Hitch (1200# bars)
Scoutr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 03:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
Best to just trace the outlet back to the breaker box and see what the amperage is on the breaker.

Just my thoughts,

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 03:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,010
We were able to power our HTT from a 20A circuit with no issues. We could run the fridge on AC, any number of lights and the A/C (NO microwave). A 15A circuit would pop the breaker after a few seconds. The A/C was the big user, if we left the A/C off the 15A circuit was fine. If your starter kit came with the round adapter (30A-15A) I'd suggest going to the local WalMart or RV shop and getting a "dog bone" adapter. (short piece of extension cord with a plug at each end. The round "cheapie" adapters have history of getting hot and melting.
If your breakers aren't labeled with what they control plug something in the outlet and start flipping breakers till it goes off. My wall plugs around the house and in the garage are generally 15A but the kitchen has a 20A outlet.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 05:22 PM   #9
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
Plug Camper into home outlet - help

This is a standard 15a outlet. You will be fine with it, just use lights and run the fridge.
ATTACH]17467[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1428358955.879186.jpg  
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 05:42 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoutr2 View Post
The easiest way is to check the breaker to the circuit in question. It will be marked. If that's not possible, a Volt-Ohm meter set to check amperage will do it, but you gotta know what you're doing there. And most folks don't have one.
I think an ammeter will only check what something is drawing.
__________________

rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.