Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2014, 09:52 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
I have a similar one that works well for the last 10 years.. BUT before you install it don't do it as the photo shows.. Have the ground wire at the bottom so the cord will not have to bend to come out the bottom of the box.
__________________

__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 02:31 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1
I installed one of these 2 years ago and have had no problems whatsoever. If I had it to do over I would install one with a breaker in it instead of having to trip the one in the house.
__________________

Jaycojunkie46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 02:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 4,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3'senough View Post
I would do it with this one or similar, as it has a swing up door vs the side open which will keep more water and debris out.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Pow...-100564957-_-N
I had the 50A version of this one installed on my house last year. I love it, the convenience is GREAT. Someone else mentioned they wished it had a 15 or 20A plug and a circuit breaker; I share the same wish, but I'll probably never replace the one I have.
__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
newbold1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Joelton, TN
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3'senough View Post
I would do it with this one or similar, as it has a swing up door vs the side open which will keep more water and debris out.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Pow...-100564957-_-N
I have two of this one. One on the house directly and one on a pedestal farther our on my property. I had this on my prior house as well. The oldest one (prior house) was there for about 1.5 years and it still looked brand new and worked just fine for me.
__________________
Joelton, TN
2013 Ford F350 Lariat Crew Cab 4x4 6.7 Diesel 3.55 Long Bed
2013 Jayco White Hawk 30DSRE
newbold1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:25 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
newbold1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Joelton, TN
Posts: 274
For me, the main panel is on the outside of the house and the two 30 amp breakers I had added are just as easily accessible there as at the pedestal so I won't ever bother to change mine out. It's working as I needed.
__________________
Joelton, TN
2013 Ford F350 Lariat Crew Cab 4x4 6.7 Diesel 3.55 Long Bed
2013 Jayco White Hawk 30DSRE
newbold1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 04:18 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
I have been thinking about installing one. Currently the garage behind the HTT does not have power, so I have to run a long extension cord to the big garage. If I do it this summer, I am thinking about running cabling for a 50/60 amp unit, and install a 30 amp plug. This will allow me to upgrade to a larger trailer (50 amp) in the future and not have to do any major rework($$). I would also recommend installing a local circuit breaker and a typical 15 amp outlet in the box to, on a separate breaker.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 07:10 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,504
If you have an electrician install this, make sure he understands its for an RV. A 30 amp RV uses only 120 not 220. I've seen these installed as a standard 30 amp 240 line...caused major problems.
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 08:49 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
ninjahbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Eatonton
Posts: 305
Ditto to wags999, I almost made the 220 mistake.
ninjahbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 08:55 PM   #19
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 2,305
Here's a picture of the water and electric (20/30/50A) hookup for my home base RV campsite.

__________________
MODERATOR
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT -- 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!
FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 07:53 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Pedo
Posts: 96
I have this one and love it. It also has 20 amp std plug.

The Eaton 30 amp/20 amp 120/240 VAC outdoor RV panel features factory installed 5-20R2GFI / TT-30R receptacles and breakers. It also features a metalic outdoor enclosure.

30 amp/20 amp
NEMA TT-30R, 3-wire, receptacle and BR130 breaker factory installed
NEMA 5-20R2GFI weather-resistant/tamper-resistant receptacle and BR120 breaker factory installed
120 volts, 240 volts
Surface mount
Indoor or outdoor
Use DS_H1 hub for outdoor
Also known as temporary power panel

Dimensions: 12.38"H x 7.13"W x 4.75"D

Brand Name: Cutler-Hammer

http://www.menards.com/main/electric.../p-1509495.htm
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
2015 Jayco Grayhawk 31DS
cbss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.