Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2014, 05:05 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 336
Power outlet for RV pad at home

Has anyone used this particular power box for providing electricity to your RV while it's parked/stored at your house?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Connectic...-100669968-_-N

Reviews are ok, but looking for 1st hand experience if it's durable for the long term.

I now have the GH 31ss parked on a level pad I had built and looking to put some power there at the pad.
__________________

__________________
'08 Greyhawk 31SS
jimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 05:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 748
A few weeks ago I installed two of the those on separate circuits (exact same model, purchased from Home Depot) on our garage exterior. Because it's recent, I can't talk about long term. They are sturdy and I expect them to last a long time. If I needed another outlet, I would get the same thing.

Why two? If we have visitors traveling in a TT they can plug in. (In-laws get charged the standard rate, friends are free.)
__________________

OnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 05:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
I have the 50 amp version that has been in service for the past 4 years. It is used approx 8 months out of the year. Not one problem with it.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 06:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CENTRAL NEW YORK
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimp View Post
Has anyone used this particular power box for providing electricity to your RV while it's parked/stored at your house?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Connectic...-100669968-_-N

Reviews are ok, but looking for 1st hand experience if it's durable for the long term.

I now have the GH 31ss parked on a level pad I had built and looking to put some power there at the pad.
I have it. After less than a year the paint/coating is dull. Some larger plugs wont let the door close all the way. I also regret not getting one with a breaker switch on it or a regular 15 amp outlet as well. I will probably upgrade this spring..

http://www.amazon.com/Connecticut-El...=rv+outlet+box
__________________
2013 33 RLDS
2004 Chevy Avalanche 2500 8.1
2007 TBSS
2001 Oldsmobile Aurora
2015 Chrysler 200C AWD
33 RLDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 06:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
I would do it with this one or similar, as it has a swing up door vs the side open which will keep more water and debris out.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Pow...-100564957-_-N
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 06:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CENTRAL NEW YORK
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3'senough View Post
I would do it with this one or similar, as it has a swing up door vs the side open which will keep more water and debris out.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Pow...-100564957-_-N
Just for info, the side open pulls down and pushes under the top when you close it. so not water or debris is getting in..
__________________
2013 33 RLDS
2004 Chevy Avalanche 2500 8.1
2007 TBSS
2001 Oldsmobile Aurora
2015 Chrysler 200C AWD
33 RLDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 07:06 AM   #7
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 2,302
I'm having a 20/30/50A box installed on the outside wall of my home for my RV campsite. My TT only needs 30A, but who's to say that I might replace it someday with an RV that requires 50A. Besides, should I entertain an overnight RV guest that needs 50A, I'm all set. The 20A receptacles will come in handy when performing any outdoor work around the house that requires electricity.
__________________
MODERATOR
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT -- 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!
FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 07:13 AM   #8
Member
 
rcdurango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Evansville
Posts: 44
Works for me. Simple and straight forward install.
__________________
Richard & Judy & Chance Caudill
2008 Melbourne
What's in the box? 2010 Can Am Spyder that is our get around the area while RVing.
rcdurango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 08:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by 33 RLDS View Post
Just for info, the side open pulls down and pushes under the top when you close it. so not water or debris is getting in..
I have the exact same model and installed it 8 years ago. It works great. As stated above, the door slides up/down and then swings open. No water will get in. I also have it running from a panel so it has a breaker there. It works great, is uncovered and shows no sign of wear after all this years. It is the 30 amp version and I now plug my 50 amp 5th wheeler in there using a 30 amp pigtail. Great for the money. I do wish I had installed a side outlet for accessories but no problem, I can just hook in to the FW outside outlets.

__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 09:39 AM   #10
Site Team
 
WVDusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Charleston
Posts: 1,549
We also use the same one. I installed it about 4 years ago and our TT is plugged in all the time. No problems so far and non expected.
__________________

__________________
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/re...%3A_douuy_o5dq

TV 2005 Ram 3500 CC LB SRW Cummins POWER
2014 Jayco Jayflight 32BHDS Prodigy P3 brake controller.Reese dual cam 1400/14000
WVDusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.