Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2016, 03:39 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
Question on Television

I have a 2007 Jayco Eagle BHS325 and as new units here in Canada are through the roof, I decided to re-fresh my unit and have put new decals on my front cap, had both my outside stairs redone to eliminate the rust due to my winter trips to Yuma. I also had my old analog TV replaced with a flatscreen and here is my question and problem. I do not have satellite and only use my batwing antenna where I can receive a signal, but am also able to watch DVD's when applicable. Will I be able to watch local channels on my flatscreen using my batwing antenna or do I have to add something to get a signal? I hope this is not a stupid question but I am not an expert on this subject. Any info will be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
2007 Jayco Eagle 325BHS
2010 Dodge 3500 Laramie
Kipor 2000 Generator
Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 03:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
SMS1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fuquay-Varina
Posts: 432
We use the original batwing antenna on our 2008 and receive a lot of over the air channels. They are all broadcast in digital now, so as long as your TV is digital capable, you should be good. Our TV is one of BestBuy's Insigna brand. It is a 2014 model.
__________________

__________________
Steve
----------
2008 Jay Flight G2 29BHS
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Z71
SMS1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 03:46 PM   #3
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
The batwing antenna will pickup digital and analog signals and send them amplified to your tv set.
The digital tv will have to be manipulated to scan for channels, unlike the old analog so you will have to learn to operate the new tv. You may find that you have to rotate and re-scan for different channels, depending on where they from you to get a signal that does not pixelate.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 04:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 690
Was quite amazed how many over the air stations we could pick up in New Mexico and Arizona.. not hotbeds of population.

With the standard in the air antenna. No satellite.. no cable Just a digital TV

Some of the stations I had never heard of.. GET TV? etc.
__________________
2012 Honda Ridgeline
2016 195 RB

Both well used. Now up to 170 nights camping and 40,000 miles on the TT since purchase.
Kim Gass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 04:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 4,190
Like the others said, your old antenna should work. It's the digital tuner in the TV that makes the difference.

As an alternative, the Jack antenna is not all that expensive and has been a worthwhile upgrade for us. I just wish I had purchased the one with the mast instead of just attaching the upgraded antenna head to my old mast. The cost differential isn't that much, and it would be worth it not to have to worry about the old style mount that is prone to leaking.
__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 06:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
Thanks everyone, I thought I should be able to receive signals but I did forget that I must do a channel search like I did when I had my analog TV with a digital box. Thanks again!!!!
__________________
2007 Jayco Eagle 325BHS
2010 Dodge 3500 Laramie
Kipor 2000 Generator
Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 07:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
We are all assuming your BATWING antenna has the ANTENNA WALL PLATE that sends up 12VDC to operate the BATWING built-in pre-amplifier... This will be indicated by a small led light that comes on at the WINEGARD ANTENNA WALL PLATE.

The 2007 Model trailer may be using the older style BATWING. This will work but would work much better if it has the dipoles added.

Your BATWING should look like this one with the ADDED UHF dipoles.


NOTE THE ADDED DIPOLES

Of course you will also have to use the digital TV menu and select ANTENNA MODE and scan in the digital TV station after you point the antenna is the right direction of the the local town transmitting them...

This is a typical setup for using these items...


We get excellent HDTV digital TV reception using our BATWING OTA setup just about everywhere we go to here in the US...

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 07:49 PM   #8
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
Everyone in the country must have 3-4 of those old converter boxes. Sure glad that era is over!

I had one of those clip on di-poles and fount it made my signal to directional. I ditched it and am much happier, except when the signal is very weak.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 10:13 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
Thanks Roy, I found your schematic yesterday and printed it off as this is the same one I have. Time/Warner screwed everything for me when I was in Yuma when I got cable for three months.I think I should be OK now. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
2007 Jayco Eagle 325BHS
2010 Dodge 3500 Laramie
Kipor 2000 Generator
Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.