Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2019, 04:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 4
refer/utilty breaker trips after new converter install

HI all new here, 1st post.


I have a new Hummingbird 17 FD that I swapped out the stock converter for a Power Dynamics.


All 12v/120v works EXCEPT the 15 amp utility breaker that powers TV, & Frig.


It trips EVERY time I try to engage it, and for the life of me don't get HOW its tripping now.


I even put the stock converter back in as a test and it still trips!


Ideas what I could have messed up?
JeeperJayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 05:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 4,297
Check all your outlets that are connected to that circuit. Open the outlet and make sure the wiring is correct and there are no shorts, loose wires or crossed wires.

If those are ok start tracing the wiring back. You could have a bad junction somewhere or a screw could be shorting through the wires. It has happened before and you could research it here.

Get a little tester and check the polarity of all your outlets while you are at it. Like this one on Amazon.
Power Gear 3 Wire Receptacle Tester, Outlet Tester, 6 Visual Indications, Light Indicator, UL Listed, Yellow, 50542
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit L 5.7L V8
Andersen WDH hitch, Renogy 100 AH Lithium &
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 05:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Not possible on all fronts because there is no power to any outlets, the frig or TV which are all on that same 15 amp breaker. Other than a bad breaker on a new RV I have no clue why it's tripping all of a sudden.
JeeperJayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 08:31 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Resolution!

OK finally worked on RV this AM. Since I didn't have power to plugs to test due to breaker tripping, decided to just pull GFCI out and put in a new one to isolate any issue if it failed and was causing issue.


BINGO! The brand new Jayco GFCI was faulty (big shocker LOL) and once new one was in, no trips, and everything worked as designed INCLUDING my newly add Power Dynamics converter!


Jayco need better quality Chinese parts rather than the crap they buy.


I mean seriously 2 weeks old and it fails?
JeeperJayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 03:11 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Samjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Lafollette
Posts: 5
Was the gfci working? I have the same problem but my gfci works but 2 regular don't along with all my 12 volt lights
Samjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.