Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2023, 01:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 14
Running A/C on 15 amp

I purchased a new TT and haven't had time to test the AC yet. Can I test it at home while the camper is plugged in to a 15amp residential outlet using a reducer?
kevine1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 01:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 15,009
It may or may not work, plug it in and see what happens. Worse case scenario is you will pop the breaker.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 02:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 4,095
If you do and it's a roof top air then only for a couple minutes to see if it blows cool. Running any motor and espeicially air conditioner motors with to little current can damage them.
My factory window AC side mounted on my 195RB is small enough it works fine on a 15 amp circuit if nothing else is running.
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit L 5.7L V8
Andersen WDH hitch, Renogy 100 AH Lithium &
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 03:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ARoamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: St Johns MI
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
It may or may not work, plug it in and see what happens. Worse case scenario is you will pop the breaker.

Or melt the adapter, been there, did that!
__________________
2020 Pinnacle 32rlts
640 watts solar, 300AH lithium
2020 High Country Duramax 3500
TS3 Hitch
Ms says I'm full of useless knowledge and other stuff...
ARoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 04:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,478
I have run mine for an hour or two on a 15amp outlet and cord. Make sure to use a heavy gauge cord, for anything mare than a quick test.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (retired from towing)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 04:34 PM   #6
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 5,248
Strict energy management must be exercised here. Be sure the refrigerator and HWH is not on AC along any other high amperage appliances (coffeemaker, hair dryer, toaster, etc.).
__________________
MODERATOR

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT
PREVIOUS: 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!

FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 06:41 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagiven View Post
I have run mine for an hour or two on a 15amp outlet and cord. Make sure to use a heavy gauge cord, for anything mare than a quick test.
It would be Outlet > adapter > EMS > 30 AMP cord that came with the TT.
kevine1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 06:42 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPM III View Post
Strict energy management must be exercised here. Be sure the refrigerator and HWH is not on AC along any other high amperage appliances (coffeemaker, hair dryer, toaster, etc.).
Nothing else would be running. It would just be a test to see if the air conditioner works.
kevine1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 07:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,943
If you can run the A/C without tripping the breaker, the next concern is the voltage as it is not uncommon to see a voltage drop more so on a 15a circuit (commonly due to smaller wiring). I would purchase one of these or like this one if you don't have one already and I would not run the A/C below 106v~108v even if the breaker doesn't trip. You may find that the A/C will run and have >110v which would be good. It is best to turn off everything you can that is on the same 15a circuit. Also, it would be better if you could use a 20a circuit if you can. ~CA

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MSGGRDD...=AYCXRUP942PA5
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2023, 07:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 15,009
The issue is not running amps, but starting. If it starts without tripping there is no issue since max running amperage is 15 or less depending on which model he has. The Coleman power saver unit has a running amperage of 8.9 the standard Mach 15 is 15 amps and the Mach 8 is 13 amps.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2023, 07:02 AM   #11
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 22,270
I have run mine several times for the same reason, just to make sure it works properly.

If it trips, I would not try again.
__________________
Moderator
2011- 351RLTS Eagle, MorRyde suspension/pin box,
2017- F350 6.7 PSD Lariat FX4,SRW, SB,CC
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Andersen Ultimate 3220
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2023, 07:38 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
rkymntsno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Schertz
Posts: 1,009
I've been tempted to try my front AC since I installed the Softstart on it. I'm pretty sure it would start up fine, just antsy about trying it, lol.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 CC Longhorn LB SRW w/timbrens
2019 Jayco Eagle 355MBQS
Pullrite 2600 Superlite
rkymntsno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2023, 10:43 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Beaufort
Posts: 143
Our Greyhawk has a 15 amp option on the load shedder. You can plug into a 15 amp source, have access to everything, and not blow the breaker. It measures the current of what items are turned on and uses a priority list to turn off lower priority items.

For example, any higher priority load such as an appliance over about 3 amps will cause the air conditioner to shut off until the load is removed. The water heater is low priority, it only runs when the air conditioner stops cooling.

When set on 30 amps we can run two air conditioners on a 30 amp supply.
Ann-Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2023, 07:58 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,060
I tried a 15A and it would trip the breaker at startup. A 20A would work as long as I didn’t turn anything else on.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2023, 05:31 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
us71na's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: McKean, PA
Posts: 1,037
Your first step should be to look at the A/C circuit breaker in your trailer. The second step is to check the circuit breaker on the house circuit to see what rating it has. If the trailer circuit breaker is 15 amp and the house circuit is 20 amp you should be good to go as long as you don't run the microwave or the water heater on electric. Any house circuit with a 20 amp breaker should support an A/C that is on a 15 amp trailer breaker, assuming the electrician that wired the house used the correct wire size.

I have operated my A/C for days connected to a 20 amp house circuit with no issues. The short 30 amp to 15 amp adapters tend to be the weak link, so check that yours doesn't get hot while the A/C is operating.
__________________
2011 Skylark 21FKV
us71na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 02:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fairfax
Posts: 140
Someone above mentioned turning off the breakers for the refrigerator, TV and other items, which is great advice for shedding load.

One thing I didn’t see mentioned was the converter. The converter in ours is a 90A DC (for charging 2p2S golf cart batteries). That means it could be pulling as much as 9-10A at 120V when in bulk charging mode. Most other smaller rigs likely have a converter in the 55A DC range, which would be in the 5-6A range at 120V AC. Add that to the 8-15A it takes just to run an A/C, not to mention start it, and it’s a recipe for a popped breaker.

Just for a test, make sure you turn off that converter breaker as well.
__________________
2022 Entegra Accolade 37K <- 2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited <- 2022 inTech Flyer Explore
DustyGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 02:36 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 14
Thanks all. I was able to test it,only ran it for a minute to make sure it turned on a blew cold air.
kevine1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 03:31 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Jerry713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Elgin
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
It may or may not work, plug it in and see what happens. Worse case scenario is you will pop the breaker.
Unfortunately breakers in most RVís are pretty cheap and donít always trip when theyíre supposed to.
Jerry713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 03:35 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Jerry713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Elgin
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevine1979 View Post
Thanks all. I was able to test it,only ran it for a minute to make sure it turned on a blew cold air.
Good deal. Congrats on the new TT. Not sure if this was mentioned already but you might consider adding a 30 amp receptacle outside your home. Itís nice to be able to run the fridge and AC when loading, unloading or cleaning it after a trip.
Jerry713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 03:52 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Charleston
Posts: 55
Ran fine but melted adapter. Not good.
Jaycophil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.