Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2013, 01:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Dilligaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Posts: 4
Running wires

Can you run wiring through the walls of a jayco swift? What's a good practice? I want to run a coax cable to the other side of my trailer. Do you think this is a mistake??? LOL
__________________

Dilligaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
Generally speaking, no you cannot run wires easily through a wall. Some of the interior walls you can run a wire vertically. When I have pulled wires I have determined where the wiring, ducts, and plumbing are and followed the same route. Something I do not like to do, but it is an option. Run the cable under the TT and back up a new hole.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:43 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Dilligaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Posts: 4
Running wires

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagiven View Post
Generally speaking, no you cannot run wires easily through a wall. Some of the interior walls you can run a wire vertically. When I have pulled wires I have determined where the wiring, ducts, and plumbing are and followed the same route. Something I do not like to do, but it is an option. Run the cable under the TT and back up a new hole.
What is the "TT" ? Where I work that's a tank top. LOL thanks for the info!
Dilligaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
LongIslandCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 832
TT = Travel Trailer
__________________
2013 Jayco Jay Flight 26RLS - 2013 1500 Ram Big Horn
2013 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH - 2010 V8 Tundra

2012 Jayco X17Z SOLD!:Beerchug:
LongIslandCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,397
I have run a bunch of wires down the foam air conditioner ducts in the ceiling that runs from one end of the 5th wheel to the other. I imagine you can do the same thing with a travel trailer. It may work better if you can run from cabinet to cabinet to get to where you are going even if it is a longer path...

They also sell some C-210 CORDMATE-II WIREMODE CORD MANAGEMENT KIT at AMAZON/LOWES which you can run around the floor kick panel and protects your wires and keeps them out of sight. Each Cable Management kit package covers 12-foot of wiremode.

These wiremold kits have sticky tape on the back but I have found if you will run a small flat head wood screw through the bottom piece into the wall at both ends and the middle of the long runs really holds the sticky tape in place... Do the sticky tape thing first then add the screws after you have pressed them in place real good... After the wiremode is in place you can unsnap them and add your cables.

Click image for larger version

Name:	41WADVY32ZL._SL500_SS500_.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	6687 Click image for larger version

Name:	41jf8ylRP9L._SL500_SS500_.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	6688 Name:  d6d7a51e3ab537288ab0010a7860c5e2.jpg
Views: 102
Size:  5.1 KB Click image for larger version

Name:	218XcdRU7AL._SL500_SS500_.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	6692

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 03:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
amabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 406
I've used the plastic wire runs Roy Ken is talking about also, I think they work well and you don't have to fish for wires. I added 12V power ports for our bunkends using that method.

[ATTACH][/ATTACH]
__________________
2013 Starcraft Travel Star 229TB
2011 Jayco X17Z(traded in)
2010 Jayco Jay Series 1207(traded for the 17Z)
2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Z71 CC 6.0L/3.73
ITBC
Reese "Pro Series" 800lb Trunnion WDH w/sway control
amabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:14 PM   #7
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,656
Welcome to the forum, Dilligaf!
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:53 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Dilligaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Posts: 4
Running wires

I like the wire management system. That should keep me from getting too drill happy.
Dilligaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 200
What's really nice about them is that it looks professional and doesn't distrack from your RV's appearance.
Happy trails,
__________________

__________________
Bill B. (S.E. Michigan)
2014 Keystone Cougar High Country 321RES (was 2007 Eagle 322FKS)
2007 Dodge Megacab CTD
billb800si is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.