Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2014, 06:58 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 349
Boy you really can get a headache just reading about all this , i think i will just leave my flip phone (emergency use only) in the truck when i camp and listen to nature. Just my two.
__________________

__________________
KELLY & LINDY ( SEMI RETIRED)
FORT WORTH,TEXAS
2000 FORD F-150 V-6/4.2
2006 JAYCO JAY FEATHER 23B EXP
EQUILIZER HITCH
Kellys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 07:25 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 44
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by greyhawk885 View Post
We use our cell as a hotspot. Have unlimited data. Most campgrounds give poor WiFi. At least most we have stayed at.
Greyhawk885: I am NEW to the "on-the road" internet access. Can you share how your system works as a "hotspot"? To many buzz words on this electronic "stuff"! Thanks in advance.
__________________

001952119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 03:42 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 42
I just received my ENS202 and Cisco Linksys 2500 from Amazon today!
I should be able to get it all installed this weekend.
Thanks to everyone for the advise and configurations.
__________________
____________________
2016 Eagle 324BHTS
2012 JaycoJayflight 28BHS - totaled :(

2017 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax
lhpelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 04:29 PM   #44
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 2,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by 001952119 View Post
Greyhawk885: I am NEW to the "on-the road" internet access. Can you share how your system works as a "hotspot"? To many buzz words on this electronic "stuff"! Thanks in advance.
First of all, not all phones have the ability to serve as a Wi-Fi hot spot. I have an iPhone 5s which does. It works like any other Wi-Fi you can connect to. I go into the iPhone's Settings and turn it on, and the network's name will display on the device you want to connect. you enter the password that's displayed on the iPhone into the device and you're you're connected.

I like it because I can use the Internet anywhere I can reach a cell tower and it's far more secure than using a public Wi-Fi. Plus it's much more consistent in speed.
__________________
MODERATOR
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT -- 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!
FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 07:20 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
So I did exactly as I had planned and bought the Bear Extender. I would say that it worked okay, but not great. The issue was that it's USB attached, so the host computer had to basically remain stationary. Additionally, since the antenna was inside, it doesn't get as good a signal as if it were outside. When Bear Extender stopped supporting the model I bought, I decided to go the Wireless Bridge route.

So I picked up the ENH202. And while it's more than 3 clicks it does work very nicely. I don't have it hooked up on the camper yet, but the testing at home is awesome. Basic steps:
1. Plug ENH202 into the laptop and turn off the wireless.
2. Reset ENH202, then access it at 192.168.1.1.
3. Enter network settings and select DHCP (click apply)
4. Enter wireless and scan
5. Select network
6. select apply
7. save and reboot ENH202
8. move ethernet cable to router input.

While it seems like a lot, it really isn't and can be done in a couple of minutes. I think that this will certainly give faster internet speeds while at the CG's
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 08:51 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by nylyon View Post
S

So I picked up the ENH202. And while it's more than 3 clicks it does work very nicely. I don't have it hooked up on the camper yet, but the testing at home is awesome.
When you have it hooked up in your TT, you should only have to turn everything on, access your ENH202 from your tablet/smart phone..., scan for networks, select the one with the best signal and log off... everything else should stay the same between the ENH202, your Wi-Fi router and your wireless toys.

Don

I will admit that the initial setup can be tricky... but it is a walk in the park after that.. even DW can do it and she is not a gadget person.
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:49 AM   #47
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
I was mistaken, it was an ENS202 which I got. It's basically a slimmed down version of the ENH202 with slightly less range. In any event, I ended up returning it. During my testing, the performance was extremely inconsistent to the point where it would work beautifully, but then not work at all. I tried from various locations within my home but it just would stop communicating with the AP (an Apple Airport Extreme). So back in the box it went. Nt sure if I'll give the ENH202 a shot or go with another bridge. I like the idea though.
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 02:53 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Surprise
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPM III View Post
First of all, not all phones have the ability to serve as a Wi-Fi hot spot. I have an iPhone 5s which does. It works like any other Wi-Fi you can connect to. I go into the iPhone's Settings and turn it on, and the network's name will display on the device you want to connect. you enter the password that's displayed on the iPhone into the device and you're you're connected.

I like it because I can use the Internet anywhere I can reach a cell tower and it's far more secure than using a public Wi-Fi. Plus it's much more consistent in speed.
An Android phone pretty much works the same. I have a Samsung S4 and it has an app icon called (wouldn't you know) "Mobile Hot Spot." When you click on the icon, it pretty much tells you what to do, including the password. I have conflicting information on whether to have the smartphone plugged in to the charger or not. When it is not, you may see your battery go down faster than normal; so having it plugged in may avert that. The Samsung rep. at Best Buy said that it really didn't matter that much. You should, however, turn off the Hot Spot when you are not using it or it will run down the battery.
__________________
2014 Jay Feather Ultra Lite X19H
2014 Buick Enclave, 3.6L V6 w/Towing Pkg.

docmarrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 03:45 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 355
If u have the data plan to support it, using the phone as a hotspot is the easiest way. Works great for me wherever I might be
__________________
2014 Ram 3500 SRW CTD
gtsum2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 08:02 AM   #50
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 2,305
The only feature I can't seem to set on the iPhone is turning off broadcasting the SSID (that's the Wi-Fi's name). The default SSID is your first name in possessive case followed by "iPhone" so mine was "Frank's iPhone". I didn't like that so I changed it to the same SSID name as my home Wi-Fi and added an "i" (for iPhone) at the end to make it unique.
__________________

__________________
MODERATOR
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT -- 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!
FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.