Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2011, 10:51 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
I set up my tripod installed the Slimline dish (HD), turned on my tv and receiver and had a 95% signal without any tweaking. This tripod system is that accurate.
It also shows that you are no slouch reading a compass...

Does the Dishpointer app have the capability to find a small "hole" that allows a signal? Does it work without a cellphone signal?
__________________

__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 01:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
Thanks for the kind words RVhiker. I almost need stronger glasses to read the small numbers on the compass.

I have never used DishPointer Pro where I didn't have cell service, but as I understand it, it uses GPS to determine where you are so it knows where to position the satellites in the sky. You are then looking through the camera on your phone and see superimposed on this screen the location of the satellites. You then just move around so you can see through a hole and see your satellite (101 in the case of DirecTV).
__________________

__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 02:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
edatlanta,

I thought, though I'm not at all sure, that although it uses GPS to know where it is, it has to send that location information to some server somewhere which has to send back instructions on where to show the satellite positions on the screen. If it really works without a cell signal, I'm more interested in it; lots of times we are off in the deep boonies or down in a canyon where cell signals are non-existent.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:33 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 29
I'm a little late to this party but better late than never. I picked up a used VuQube 1000 last year for Bell in Canada (Dish in US). Light, small, and easy to use. Remote controlled to point the dish. With Bell in Canada, SD is on 1 Sat, and HD on the other. With the VuQube, once you find one, you can set it to one of the 2 presets, find the other and set to preset 2. If you want to change channels to one that's on the opposite preset, you hit the button on the vuQube remote, and it moves over to the sat.

Just downloaded Dishpointer for iPhone. Works great as it gives you a visual of the satellites. I just set my phone to Airplane mode, and Dishpointer doesn't work as it can't find your location. That may be similar to no cell service.

Dax.
Daxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:55 PM   #15
Member
 
Leroy2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daxton View Post
I'm a little late to this party but better late than never. I picked up a used VuQube 1000 last year for Bell in Canada (Dish in US). Light, small, and easy to use. Remote controlled to point the dish. With Bell in Canada, SD is on 1 Sat, and HD on the other. With the VuQube, once you find one, you can set it to one of the 2 presets, find the other and set to preset 2. If you want to change channels to one that's on the opposite preset, you hit the button on the vuQube remote, and it moves over to the sat.

Just downloaded Dishpointer for iPhone. Works great as it gives you a visual of the satellites. I just set my phone to Airplane mode, and Dishpointer doesn't work as it can't find your location. That may be similar to no cell service.

Dax.
So are you pretty satisfied with the cube then? Would you buy it again?

Mark
__________________
2012 Chev 2500 DMax 4x4
2009 Octane 24ZX
2008 Artic Cat 500 TRV
2008 Artic Cat 650 TRV

Leroy2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:30 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 29
Yes..I'm very happy with it. I bought mine used for $150, and it works great. For that price i couldn't go wrong. In Canada, i can get a new VQ1000 for $649.99 from a Satellite Dealer. Not sure what the US prices are like. I would probably buy a new one if needed, as i think it's one of the cheaper units. The newer models (2000?) handles autoswitching between the 2 satellites i think. I previously used tripod and old 18" dish, but it was big and bulky. The Qube is small, and you can put it on the roof, or in the corner of your site, or on the box of the truck, wherever you need, with ease.

The odd time the remote loses connection with the cube, but comes back within 1-2 seconds. Line of Site from remote to the cube helps... Just note that it may not work for DirecTV in the US. I'm on Bell in Canada which is equivalent to Dish.
Daxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:01 PM   #17
Member
 
gilldawg79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
I would save my money for a while and buy this. It is on my short list. I have talked to some folks and they say its a breeeze. Just tell it what state you are in and it does the rest. If you have Dish Network, this is the way to go. I currently use a tripod and a dish, but the Tailgater is coming soon.

http://www.amazon.com/Dish-Network-T...0574339&sr=8-1

HTH
__________________
Jimmy
West Central Alabama
2012 Jayco Jayflight 26RKS W/ Side Bunks
2006 GMC Ext Cab 2500HD 4X4/6.0/4.10
RTR!
gilldawg79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 11:22 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 29
Ya, I saw that on the vuqube website. I hope they bring out a version for bell in canada. Would make setup even faster!
Daxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:44 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 145
Thumbs up Bird Dog Meter

I bought a used Bird Dog meter from E Bay, really makes set up very simple. Paid $200.00 for the meter. Sure beats listing for the signal meter and moving the dish.. Another good investment is a sturdy tripod.

BuckeyeJim
Columbus Ohio
10Eagle 322Fks
11 Dodge Ram 2500 Turbo Diesel
buckeyejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:26 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
mrnoyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 183
"Tailgater" is here now. Has anyone used this product on the road yet? I wonder if it works in Mexico?

http://www.dish.com/technology/tv-outdoors/
__________________

mrnoyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.