Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2016, 12:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: st. johns
Posts: 5
Satellite with Second TV

Hello,

I have a Jayco Eagle with a TV in the rear bunkhouse that I want to hook up my satellite receiver to. I have the main satellite receiver connected to the main TV and I wanted to know if there is a way i could connect the second tv in the bunkhouse to this receiver, knowing that the channels would be the same on both. If this is not possible i would even just want to be able to switch back and forth between the main TV and the second tv by changing a cable if possible.
I have tried a couple of combinations with the coax connections next to the main TV but cannot get any station to show on the second TV.
__________________

LJL76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 02:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
The second TV connection is probably on the back of the ant amp. You need to pull it out and then possibly incorporate an A/B switch in the line.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 07:44 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: st. johns
Posts: 5
Thanks for the quick reply. So there is no way to hook the receiver up to the second TV in the bunkhouse from the main area under the main TV where the RF connectors are located without having to put in a new switch?
LJL76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 08:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
I ran a coax from the media center to the rear bunk house. The main use is to extend the regular OTA and CABLE outputs to the bunk house. When we are using the Dish Tail-Gater, I connect the bunkhouse COAX to the back of the Dish Receiver and the main TV gets the HDMI connection. On the back of my DISH receiver I have a HDMI and a TV COAX output, not sure if all receivers have that feature.

The coax is only exposed where it goes from the media center to behind the trim on the slid-out and drops down next to the bunk house behind the trim. One of these days I will run it down to through the floor or into the ceiling and over to the bunk-house... whenever, it has only been like this for 3 or 4 years... not high on my priority list

Hope this helps

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
Youy don't need the switch, but you still need to pull the wire off the back of the amplifier.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:12 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: st. johns
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply, I will try to pull cable off the amplifier this weekend when I am back out to the trailer.
LJL76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 10:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
SMS1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fuquay-Varina
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
I ran a coax from the media center to the rear bunk house. The main use is to extend the regular OTA and CABLE outputs to the bunk house. When we are using the Dish Tail-Gater, I connect the bunkhouse COAX to the back of the Dish Receiver and the main TV gets the HDMI connection. On the back of my DISH receiver I have a HDMI and a TV COAX output, not sure if all receivers have that feature.

Don
This is how my parents got the signal to their outside TV to watch NASCAR at the campgrounds. he tried using the coax that was installed for the antenna, but the signal got confused and the picture wasn't the greatest. Now he ran the new coax, picture is great and no switches needed.
__________________
Steve
----------
2008 Jay Flight G2 29BHS
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Z71
SMS1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 10:28 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: st. johns
Posts: 5
The satellite works great on ,y main TV, I just to extend it to the second tv with the cabling in place if possible. There is an RF connection in the bunkhouse so I assumed i could use that to connect to the RF connector on the satellite receiver.
LJL76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 10:40 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
These amp wiring diagrams may help
Don
Attached Thumbnails
Tv - Antenna-Cable Connections - Example 1.jpg   Tv - Antenna-Cable Connections - Example 2.jpg   Tv - Antenna-Cable Connections - Example 3.jpg   Tv - Antenna-Cable Connections - Operation.jpg  
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 11:00 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: st. johns
Posts: 5
Thanks for the diagram !
It makes it clearer for sure, it appears if i am reading this correctly that to run the RF connection from the receiver next to the main tv to the back TV that there is no way to do it from the current setup next to my receiver that has the cable amplifier connection the A/B connections? I was hoping i could just plug the receiver into one of those and it would work.
The current setup i have is the jumper is removed between A and B on the wall plate and I have the satellite receiver connected into the RF connector marker as A and then to the main TV using A/V cables, this works great for the main TV. Given that there is an RF jack in the bunkhouse i assumed i could just hook the RF convection on the satellite receiver into one of the remaining connections and it would work in the bunkhouse....
__________________

LJL76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.