Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-30-2015, 11:28 AM   #1

Surge Brake System Help

We picked up a 1997 Jayco Eagle pop-up last summer. The trailer is in good condition and after some new tires she became road worthy. I'm pretty new to trailers, although my family always had a pop-up while growing up.

The trailer has sat for over 10 years. I looked in the brake reservoir and the fluid is all dried out.

Any thoughts on how I can clean this out. Are the brake lines most likely dried out as well?

Anyone have any experience in dealing with this that may be able to give me some guidance/tips?
firewalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 11:54 AM   #2

Is it rusty? That's the brake system's biggest enemy, rust. If it's clean then you might luck out and simply put new fluid in it and it'll work. Worst case scenario is that you replace the master cylinder. These are very easy to work on. I rebuilt one on a 1972 pop-up and on my '93 after it was about 6 or 7 years old and got water in the system because of a bad cap.

Once you have the actuator working you'll probably have to take apart the wheels and make sure the brake parts aren't rusted.

Replacement Master Cylinder for Atwood Trailer Brake Actuators - Drum Atwood Accessories and Parts 85841

Brake Actuator Parts Accessories and Parts | etrailer.com

When all is said and done surge brakes are better than nothing, but aren't really all that effective. If you can, swap them for electric brakes, but I think you have to change the axles for them.
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 12:55 PM   #3

Great. I guess what I referred to as the reservoir is actually the master cylinder. Is there any chance that the brake line itself is also messed up (solidified, etc)?

For now I'll work on the master cylinder then take a look at the brakes.