Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2010, 09:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: southwest pa.
Posts: 50
Thermostat

why does jayco still use theese inacurate mechanical thermostats. I have a new designer and there is no way to know what temperature it is set at .You slide that lever to the left near a number that seems like a good temp like 75 or slightly above ,leave the trailer for the afternoon and return a few hours later and it's like a meat locker when you open the door or so warm you think you may not have switched it to air.
digital thermostats that are programable have been around for 20 years and are very accurate you set it at 76 and you get 76.
Did they have a warehouse full of theese mechanical units left from the 70s and haven't used them all yet or are they just lazy. I'm sure if they contacted any mfg. of thermostats they would build them a good digital unit that operated on 12 volts and tell coleman or dometic to keep there junk.
I just had a coleman-mach replaced under warranty and the part cost 65.00dollars twice the price of a 24volt programmable unit at lowes ,If this makes sense to anyone please explain. I would love to here it.
__________________

Haul n it all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 12:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
JPBeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 527
The next time I pull the trigger on a mod it will be replacing the thermostat. I've seen thermostats that have a 9volt back up battery which is the one I think I'll get.
__________________

__________________

Regards,
JP
2007 20BH Jayco JayFlight
2009 F150 5.4L SCrew Cab XLT
JPBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 03:24 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
With our tt, we currently have the tt set at 74 degree's and our current inside temp is 77 degree's (it's 102 degree's outside). I have noticed that with our particular tt that the temp is within 2-5 degree's of what we have it set at. Usually, the temp is consistently higher than what the thermostat says, but no more than 2-5 degree's.... could we have a different thermostat than other tt's ?
__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Peotone IL
Posts: 214
Haul n it all,

Just a thought the heating is one system and the A/C the other system. You would need a two zone stat. I would look at Camping World for the right stat then shop around.
I know the thermostat are not the best choice. Mine has about a four degree swing. I might look to change mine out but I got the third degree at the dealer on my changes and Warranty issues. I told them I own the unit and I didn't change the issues of warranty.

Good Luck let us know what way you go.
__________________
Wayne & Marti ....Yogi the spoiled Dog
2012 Ford Lariat 4WD PSD Dually LB, Aux Tank 50 gal
2010 Designer 37 RLQS, 5th Airbourne w/Sidewinder
Http://yogi154.blogspot.com/
yogi154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 286
Thats one Mod I'd luv to learn more about. Seems that the digital would be more accurate thus a more stable environment inside. A unit that would have inside temp readings would be even better.
__________________
My Other House Is A '02 Jayco 31FKS Designer TT
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 12:41 PM   #6
Member
 
1mtnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Thermostat

There are many threads that explain thoroughly the process to install a digital thermostat. Here is one source. It is a very simple process and works great.

http://rvroadtrip.us/library/digital_thermostat.asp
1mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 04:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rising Sun, MD
Posts: 306
Ours works just fine JayFlight 22FB.
hammerdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 08:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
barrelslime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Highland, IL
Posts: 318
Good thought
__________________
" Let us endeavor so to live, that when we come to die, even the undertaker will be sorry." Mark Twain
barrelslime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 11:36 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
I did this mod and it works great!! It keeps the TT a more constant temp and with out the big temp swing before the AC/HEAT turns on or off.
You do need to be a little bit mechanically inclined because it is not a direct wire for wire transfer and you need to modify the thermostat and add a micro switch to control the fan speed (HI/LOW).
jayco32rls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 09:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cape Girardeau, MO
Posts: 166
Any suggestions on what model Dig Thermostat to replace Coleman Mach (AC & Heat) for Jayco 24T?
__________________

chas111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.