Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2021, 02:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jlawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 102
Tire Tracker TPMS Repeater

We just returned from a 4 week trip to Florida. During this trip the monitor of our Tire Tracker TPMS constantly lost contact with different sensors. Replacing the batteries didn't help. The funny thing is, in 2019 we took a 6 week trip coast to coast and the monitor never lost connection with any of the sensors. I have no idea why we're having trouble now. Regardless, the system came with a repeater which must be attached to the 12v system which I plan to do and see if that solves the problem. However, I keep the trailer plugged into AC power whenever I'm home so that would mean that the repeater would be powered up 24/7/365. Is that bad for the repeater or should I disconnect it whenever we're not traveling? Thank you for any advice you can give.
__________________
Jeff & Theresa, Media, PA
2015 White Hawk 27DSRL
2017 Ram Big Horn 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel
jlawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 03:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
AKRUEBBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Rainbow Plantation RV Park, Summerdale, AL
Posts: 2,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlawley View Post
We just returned from a 4 week trip to Florida. During this trip the monitor of our Tire Tracker TPMS constantly lost contact with different sensors. Replacing the batteries didn't help. The funny thing is, in 2019 we took a 6 week trip coast to coast and the monitor never lost connection with any of the sensors. I have no idea why we're having trouble now. Regardless, the system came with a repeater which must be attached to the 12v system which I plan to do and see if that solves the problem. However, I keep the trailer plugged into AC power whenever I'm home so that would mean that the repeater would be powered up 24/7/365. Is that bad for the repeater or should I disconnect it whenever we're not traveling? Thank you for any advice you can give.
I needed to add a repeater when I went with the longer Pinnacle. I wired mine directly to one of my batteries and added a switch so I could turn it off when not in use.
__________________
AL & JANET KRUEBBE
2019 PINNACLE 37RLWS
2018 NORTH POINT 315RLTS (TRADED)
2017 RAM 3500 DRW DIESEL/AISIN 4.10 AIR BAGS
B&W COMPANION TURN OVER BALL HITCH
Formerly from Sequim, WA
AKRUEBBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 05:18 PM   #3
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 19,452
I mounted mine in the battery compartment When I camp for less than a week, I just remove a wing nut from the positive terminal. I added the wing nut over the positive battery terminal wiring. Works like a dream. I have forgotten to connect it before and it worked flawlessly without it but the signal strength is more when it's on.
__________________
Moderator
2011- 351RLTS Eagle, MorRyde suspension/pin box,
2017- F350 6.7 PSD Lariat FX4,SRW, SB,CC
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Andersen Ultimate 3220
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 07:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sturgissteele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: SW Lower Michigan
Posts: 2,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKRUEBBE View Post
I needed to add a repeater when I went with the longer Pinnacle. I wired mine directly to one of my batteries and added a switch so I could turn it off when not in use.
Same here.

If the repeater isn't on for me, I get the readings sometimes, sometimes not. But with the repeater on it never misses a reading.
__________________
John & Jennifer and family

2018 Jayco White Hawk 31BH 34'
2004 Surveyor by Forest River 29'
1996 Coachman Catalina 25'
TV 2010 Dodge Ram 2500HD CC SLT 5.7L 4WD SB
2002 Jayco 12UTD PopUp
sturgissteele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 08:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 55
I wired my repeater to the running light circuit in the junction box on the tongue. It is only powered when the 7- way is connected and the lights are on. I always drive with my lights on, though.
__________________
2017 Silverado 2500 HD, 6.6 Duramax
2018 Eagle HT 314 BHDS
Blue Ox WDH
fr8erfxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 05:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Charles Town
Posts: 388
I wired mine directly to the battery with a fuse. I just take the fuse out whenever I don't want it on.
__________________
2014 Toyota TundraTRD double cab 4x4 tow package off road package 46 gallon fuel tank
2018 Jayco White Hawk 23MRB solar equipped
Racinforthefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 07:56 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jlawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr8erfxr View Post
I wired my repeater to the running light circuit in the junction box on the tongue. It is only powered when the 7- way is connected and the lights are on. I always drive with my lights on, though.
This is along the lines of what I was thinking except I don't always drive with my lights on. Is there a circuit that's only on when the trailer is plugged in that I could tap into?
Thank you to all that replied. I'm just not sure I'd remember to turn it on and off manually if I wired it directly to the battery.
__________________
Jeff & Theresa, Media, PA
2015 White Hawk 27DSRL
2017 Ram Big Horn 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel
jlawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 08:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 55
Pin 4 of your trailer connector is for charging the TT battery while driving. I'm no expert and I believe that not all vehicles are set up to charge on pin 4. might want to check on your particular TV.

Click image for larger version

Name:	7-Way-RV-Style-Trailer-Plug-Wiring-Diagram-2.png
Views:	6
Size:	21.8 KB
ID:	73580
__________________
2017 Silverado 2500 HD, 6.6 Duramax
2018 Eagle HT 314 BHDS
Blue Ox WDH
fr8erfxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 09:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Big1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lakewood, WA.
Posts: 3,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
I mounted mine in the battery compartment When I camp for less than a week, I just remove a wing nut from the positive terminal. I added the wing nut over the positive battery terminal wiring. Works like a dream. I have forgotten to connect it before and it worked flawlessly without it but the signal strength is more when it's on.

^^This is what I do^^
__________________
2018 Dodge Ram 3500 6.7L CTD
2019 Jayco Eagle 321RSTS 5th Wheel
Retired Army MSG
Big1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 07:41 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jlawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr8erfxr View Post
Pin 4 of your trailer connector is for charging the TT battery while driving. I'm no expert and I believe that not all vehicles are set up to charge on pin 4. might want to check on your particular TV.

Attachment 73580
Thanks fr8erfxr. My question about this is, "Is that circuit always hot?" If that circuit charges the battery, is it still hot from the trailer battery even when disconnected from the TV? Is there such a thing as a one way valve for electricity? I guess the best way to answer my question is to go test it. I'll try to do that and let you know. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
Jeff & Theresa, Media, PA
2015 White Hawk 27DSRL
2017 Ram Big Horn 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel
jlawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 08:03 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 55
Yes, you are right. I had a brain fart! That would always be hot. I think you're going to have to put a switch on it. I brought up the running light idea because I have to have mine on to get power for my backup camera so I always tow with my lights on. Originally, I was going to put a lighted switch, mounted to my propane cover, just behind my power jack head so I wouldn't forget it. How about mounting a switch near the propane cover lid so you see it when you open it to turn propane bottles on and off?
__________________
2017 Silverado 2500 HD, 6.6 Duramax
2018 Eagle HT 314 BHDS
Blue Ox WDH
fr8erfxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 09:33 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: High ridge
Posts: 279
One way valve for electricity is called a diode.
Old and soft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 10:14 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
jlawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr8erfxr View Post
Yes, you are right. I had a brain fart! That would always be hot. I think you're going to have to put a switch on it. I brought up the running light idea because I have to have mine on to get power for my backup camera so I always tow with my lights on. Originally, I was going to put a lighted switch, mounted to my propane cover, just behind my power jack head so I wouldn't forget it. How about mounting a switch near the propane cover lid so you see it when you open it to turn propane bottles on and off?
That's a good idea. If I see it when I'm hooking up or unhooking I'm much more likely to remember to turn it on and off. Thanks.
__________________
Jeff & Theresa, Media, PA
2015 White Hawk 27DSRL
2017 Ram Big Horn 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel
jlawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 02:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
jlawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 102
For those of you that hook the repeater directly to the battery, do you use a fuse, and if so, what amp fuse do you use? Thanks.
__________________
Jeff & Theresa, Media, PA
2015 White Hawk 27DSRL
2017 Ram Big Horn 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel
jlawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 02:12 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
AKRUEBBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Rainbow Plantation RV Park, Summerdale, AL
Posts: 2,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlawley View Post
For those of you that hook the repeater directly to the battery, do you use a fuse, and if so, what amp fuse do you use? Thanks.
My repeater (EEZ product) comes with an inline 2 amp blade fuse.
__________________
AL & JANET KRUEBBE
2019 PINNACLE 37RLWS
2018 NORTH POINT 315RLTS (TRADED)
2017 RAM 3500 DRW DIESEL/AISIN 4.10 AIR BAGS
B&W COMPANION TURN OVER BALL HITCH
Formerly from Sequim, WA
AKRUEBBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 03:58 PM   #16
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 19,452
The repeater furnished with my TST has a blade fuse in the line.
__________________
Moderator
2011- 351RLTS Eagle, MorRyde suspension/pin box,
2017- F350 6.7 PSD Lariat FX4,SRW, SB,CC
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Andersen Ultimate 3220
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 12:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Green Valley
Posts: 111
I installed my repeater in the cabinets above the bed. Wired to 12volts from a nearby light. Added a lighted switch. Now, as part of my routine, I turn on the repeater just before we leave. Turn off when we arrive. Not easy to forget as the lit switch is bright red and my better half sees it when she opens cabinet to get her clothes!! After a few reminders from her, I'm getting better at remembering to turn off the switch!
Since I also have a battery switch to shut off battery power to trailer when stored, I don't worry to much about the repeater draining the battery.
videoarizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 01:22 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mexico Beach
Posts: 1,669
Have the repeater tie wrapped under RV. Wires go up to the battery with clips. I clip on positive before a trip. Make sure the repeater antenna is pointed up or down. I have mine pointed down. I also have the Bluetooth box Velcro on to my back window behind headrest. I have the tireminder with cell phone app.
Rock
__________________
2016 Pinnacle 36 FBTS, washer/drier, Onan 5500, G tires, dual Payne windows.
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie 4x4 LB, DRW, HO Motor 4:10 Air Suspension, 12 Info Center.
Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 02:16 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
berwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 158
TMPS Repeater

I created this mini control panel for my stereo, TPMS repeater, and some spare USB charging ports.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_5455.jpg  
__________________
Bill & Cindy
Jayco Alante 32N
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Yamaha XT250
berwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 06:23 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
jlawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 102
Thanks to all that responded. I have the repeater temporarily mounted inside my battery box with a waterproof switch located on the on one of the angled sides on the lid. We're going on a trip soon. If it works well, I'll mount it permanently. If not, I'll find a better location for it. In several tests so far (but not hooked up and towing) it looks like it will work great. Thank you for all the good information and great suggestions.

Jeff
__________________
Jeff & Theresa, Media, PA
2015 White Hawk 27DSRL
2017 Ram Big Horn 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel
jlawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.