Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2014, 03:24 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 973
You need to check anything and everything that runs on AC. There should be a transformer in the AC unit for the control circuits for the AC. It might be smoked.
__________________

__________________
No man has a good enough memory to be a successful liar. Abraham Lincoln

2016 36FBTS Pinnacle
2016 F350, 6.7, 4x4, DRW, long bed
B & W Companion 5th wheel Hitch
eldermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:27 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Grand Forks
Posts: 101
A/C works like a champ. Used it for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. Actually, I think these guys above are right and I didn't actually get 220 down the line, but the neutral was hot.
__________________

__________________
Jolly Mon

-2004 Nissan Titan w/Equal-i-zer hitch
-2014 Jayco White Hawk 24 RBS
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:29 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Grand Forks
Posts: 101
I had someone check around for anything that might have had a meltdown. Couldn't find anything unusual. We have put all electronics through their paces and so far so good.
__________________
Jolly Mon

-2004 Nissan Titan w/Equal-i-zer hitch
-2014 Jayco White Hawk 24 RBS
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 06:51 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Barrie
Posts: 49
Smart!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seann45 View Post
That is the sort of reason that I wont plug into any outlet until I have one of these plugged in.
http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...y-30-amp/58464
I was going to ask how one can verify the outlet you are looking to connect to but this answers that question completely. As a matter of fact, this thread is a great piece for all to read and should be stickied!!
BNear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 06:58 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
I had the exact same scenario when my cousin wired up an outlet at his cabin. Fortunately, It just blew my main breaker. I saw what had happened and rewired it and all was good. Just recently, I had an electrician wire up a 30 amp breaker for a second Rv spot for my hunting buddies out back. Went out to check on him before he closed up the box and he had wired it up for 220! Something about the look of those outlets I guess.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 07:36 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 748
... good to know that you are capable of doing the repairs yourself.
OnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 09:58 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Grand Forks
Posts: 101
Well, the microwave will be easy enough. I wouldn't normally have messed with the converter... but the guy who created this whole situation is actually a carpenter that builds luxury homes. (but obviously doesn't know RV's!) This is in part... why I trusted his wiring in the first place. He has fixed and built things for me before.
He took out the converter himself and said, lets order one and put it in. Only 5 wires to hook up.
__________________
Jolly Mon

-2004 Nissan Titan w/Equal-i-zer hitch
-2014 Jayco White Hawk 24 RBS
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 10:01 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Grand Forks
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by namusmc65 View Post
I had the exact same scenario when my cousin wired up an outlet at his cabin. Fortunately, It just blew my main breaker. I saw what had happened and rewired it and all was good. Just recently, I had an electrician wire up a 30 amp breaker for a second Rv spot for my hunting buddies out back. Went out to check on him before he closed up the box and he had wired it up for 220! Something about the look of those outlets I guess.
It's comforting to know that this is a common occurrence. This thread may just save someone my fate in the future.
__________________
Jolly Mon

-2004 Nissan Titan w/Equal-i-zer hitch
-2014 Jayco White Hawk 24 RBS
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Grand Forks
Posts: 101
New microwave arrived today from the distributor. Very easy to change out. Everything is back to normal again. Whew.
__________________
Jolly Mon

-2004 Nissan Titan w/Equal-i-zer hitch
-2014 Jayco White Hawk 24 RBS
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:49 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Secret Cove
Posts: 10,468
Thanks for the wakeup call!

Dave
__________________

__________________
2010 Jayco Feather Sport 22'6" (sold)DrawTite,12,000 lbs. 2017 Jayco 212 QBW BAJA (bought)
2011 Ford F-150 XLT SCab 4x4 Tow Package
"If you can't be smart; be stubborn.". DG.
SecretCoveDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
120, 220, electrical problem, voltage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.