Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-10-2020, 09:27 AM   #1

What size surge protector

First post, so bear with me. We're picking up our new Jay Flight SLX 267 Saturday so I've been online binge shopping/reading this forum which has been really helpful.
I'm on the fence as to what type of surge protector to get and what size. We camp with my in-laws who have a White Hawk, and often times they use a 30AF to 50AM connector to plug into the 50amp outlet to avoid popping the breaker for AC. I am planning on doing the same.
However, I would like some form of surge protection as a relatively cheap insurance policy since there are so many essential electronics. My electrical knowledge is above average but I'm new to RV stuff. Would I need a 50 amp or a 30 amp protector? Camper is 30, but plugging into 50 has me wondering.
Thank you.
HuntFishCamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 09:42 AM   #2
Site Team

Not needed. Just get a 30a and adapt to it with a adapter. You are only using 30a amps anyhow and will use it in the 30a amp PED most of the time likely.
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 10:09 AM   #3

To add to norty1's good advice you should get an EMS unit, not just a surge protector. Read norty1's sig and take notice of the Hughes EMS he is using. As he said, you need the 30a, not 50.

pward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 10:52 AM   #4

X2 on getting an EMS unit. Much more than just a surge protector.
wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 10:56 AM   #5