Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-01-2020, 09:07 AM   #1

Advice please. Sienna towing 16xrb. What hitch?

Hi... Sorry, I know much of this gets covered, but trying to narrow down options.

I have a Sienna, 2015, LE, AWD
TT is a 2014 16xrb

I have a lot of trailering experience, but with heavier vehicles towing a boat and a landscape trailer..... Never dealt with WD/sway control.

With a TT this size, how necessary is sway control?

Do Friction sway control units work OK? Are they too much trouble to bother with?

Will the ground clearance of a round bar WD system be too low on a van? Seems like this might be a real concern.

Found this on Amazon... at the price, it's very tempting.. Opinions for use in my setup are welcome!
https://www.amazon.com/Husky-31620-L.../dp/B00OLR4SL0

Thanks!!!!!
Navig8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 09:20 AM   #2
Site Team

I am not a fan of the old style friction sway controls that are used on hitches like the one that you linked. Though they work, they can be a pain to deal with, have to disconnect to back up, etc.

I highly recommend one of the many more modern hitch designs that have integrated sway control. Many of us here are using Andersen, Equalizer, etc. They are much more expensive, but definitely worth the cost in my opinion.
2015 MB Sprinter 2500 Passenger 2.1L Diesel
2007 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 5.9L G56

Midnightmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 09:49 AM   #3

I've had a friction sway control bar with this type of hitch for many years and it works just fine. As said though there are better systems. I just bought, though it has not arrived yet, a Fastway E2 trunnion bar system. Because of the design of the system it does not need a separate sway bar. My main reason for buying a new hitch is my spring bars are wearing out and I can't get replacements.