Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-05-2018, 09:58 AM   #1

Fuel for mountain towing.

RAM 1500 5.7 Hemi.
We're headed to about 8000' elevation from 1200'.
Would a higher octane help once we approach 5000'?
Would the truck relearn curve be detrimental?
Is thinner air better or worse for higher octane?

Lot's of questions, but thanks in advance.
Vaquero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 10:50 AM   #2

I’ll start by saying I’m far from an expert, but, 85 octane is available in some high altitude states like Colorado because, in the thinner air, there is less of a need for a higher octane. If you normally run 87, I’d just keep running it.

One issue you may find is that a non-turbo engine looses power at higher altitudes because there is less air available to mix with fuel. Diesel engines usual have turbos which compress the air to minimize the impact but a naturally aspirated gas will be affected. I don’t have first hand experience so I can’t say how significant it will be.
Nights Camped Last Year: 37
Each is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 11:04 AM   #3

The differing octane levels in fuel is to prevent knocking.

Theory would be the higher the altitude the less proclivity for knock to begin with due to the lower air pressure and hence less air in the cylinder compared to lower altitudes.