Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2016, 09:07 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toledo
Posts: 14
I have a new Tekonsha P3 brake controller, the instructions say adjust the controller up until the trailer brakes skid, then back it down slightly till the don't skid. This is using the controller manual brake lever at 25 MPH. Well my new Starcraft 24 RLS brakes wont lock up even with the controller set full on at 14. They semm to work good but no locking up. A local dealer told me they set brake controllers in their parking lot at about walking speed, then adjust so the trailer stops within about 10ft. Do my brakes need adjusting? Setting the controller at just below skid seems pretty aggressive. But I'm still learning . Thanks
__________________

jim shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 09:34 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Roxbury Twp
Posts: 78
aljo, how is that sound advice. like i said, i've had two curt brake controllers and they worked fine. was able to dial them in correctly with my pop up and both hybrid travel trailers. yes, it does take some effort initially and minor adjustments while traveling but they will work.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 5.7 Hemi
2015 Jay Feather SLX 26BHSW
njdanmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 09:54 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toledo
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdanmc View Post
aljo, how is that sound advice. like i said, i've had two curt brake controllers and they worked fine. was able to dial them in correctly with my pop up and both hybrid travel trailers. yes, it does take some effort initially and minor adjustments while traveling but they will work.
njdanmc, do you use the " crankem up till they lock up then dial it back a little" method of setting your brake controller.
jim shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 10:54 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukenick1 View Post
Got one installed and they put in a Curt Discovery. Never showed me how to use it or adjust it. I was left with going to You Tube to get it figured out. Only problem is that is decides to work when it feels like it. Tried setting it manually and when I pressed the manual brake on the controller nothing happened and then all of a sudden my trailer brakes locked up and left skid marks in the road. I am constantly adjusting it down from 2.5 to .05 because it locks up on me at random times. I just want something easy to use and that works. My bff loves her Tekonsha Prodigy P2, but I want other options because I have read that some don't like the digital ones.
This is the only controller you've used, correct? Your trailer is new, correct? I'd go back to your dealer and ask them to make it right.

If your brakes have been 'grabbing' and locking up, it is possible there is grease on the shoes. You may need to have them pull the brake drums to rule this out, because grease on the brakes will cause a problem no matter what kind controller is used.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 11:56 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sulphur Springs
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim shoes View Post
I have a new Tekonsha P3 brake controller, the instructions say adjust the controller up until the trailer brakes skid, then back it down slightly till the don't skid. This is using the controller manual brake lever at 25 MPH. Well my new Starcraft 24 RLS brakes wont lock up even with the controller set full on at 14. They semm to work good but no locking up. A local dealer told me they set brake controllers in their parking lot at about walking speed, then adjust so the trailer stops within about 10ft. Do my brakes need adjusting? Setting the controller at just below skid seems pretty aggressive. But I'm still learning . Thanks
I've also got a P3. I just adjust mine by what I feel. I like to feel the trailer brakes engage before the truck brakes do. If I get a little too aggressive with that, then the trailer brakes apply too quickly at low speeds, and I can back it off. Once set, I never touch it.
etex211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 12:03 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toledo
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by etex211 View Post
I've also got a P3. I just adjust mine by what I feel. I like to feel the trailer brakes engage before the truck brakes do. If I get a little too aggressive with that, then the trailer brakes apply too quickly at low speeds, and I can back it off. Once set, I never touch it.
Thanks for the reply, I agree.
jim shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 12:43 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Roxbury Twp
Posts: 78
no, i initially set it midway on both settings then kept adjusting to what i felt comfortable with. my original reply was just indicating my disappointment that a lot of posters here say things are junk or garbage or won't work if it's not top of the line equipment and i say hogwash to that. to say that a cheap brake controller will never work properly is an inaccurate statement in my opinion.
__________________
2012 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 5.7 Hemi
2015 Jay Feather SLX 26BHSW
njdanmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 03:11 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Springfield
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldmanAZ View Post
This is the only controller you've used, correct? Your trailer is new, correct? I'd go back to your dealer and ask them to make it right.

If your brakes have been 'grabbing' and locking up, it is possible there is grease on the shoes. You may need to have them pull the brake drums to rule this out, because grease on the brakes will cause a problem no matter what kind controller is used.
Yes this is the only controller I have used. My trailer is used. The dealer did not install the brake controller a hitch company did it. I also see a puff of smoke come out of the TT brakes when I press my TV brake pedal.
lukenick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 04:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Paintinfool3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 1,272
I have run 3 or 4 controllers and like one post said the controller does need to be mounted fairly level side to side for it to work properly, but I do notice a difference in the gyro controlled ones compared to just the press pedal get juice type. My last one would have to be adjusted on my car hauler for when I had a car in it compared to when it was running empty or the brakes would lock almost every time empty. Also there are 2 adjustments to most one I for when it begins to work and the other is a fine tune adjustment ... make sure the first is adjusted before you work with the second or you will have all manor of problems getting it right. Good luck
__________________

__________________
2011 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab Diesel , 2015 Jayco Eagle 338 rets
Paintinfool3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.