Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-15-2020, 04:09 AM   #1

I'm trying to find F-350 with the 6.2 and 4.30 gears

I'm planning on upgrading from my 2018 White Hawk 26rk to a Eagle HT 25.5REOK (or similar). My current tow vehicle is a 2014 Tundra, so I'll have to upgrade my truck first. I do plan on occasionally towing doubles with the new rig, my 500lb utility trailer with my 1400lbs side by side. I'm looking for a used 2017 and up Ford Super Duty with the 6.2 and 4.30 gearing, I also would like the Lariat or higher trim. I do find some F-250, but they don't seem to have enough payload. Does anybody have any advice on finding them? I have been using Auto Trader and putting "4.30" in the keyword search bar. I really don't want a diesel, I understand the luxury of one, I drive semi for a living, but I really don't want the potential repairs and expenses. Any other advice on what to look for on these Super Duties?
niknak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 05:12 AM   #2

A word of advice to carefully check the F250 series (prior to 2020 models) bed and bedrail height above ground. The HT series pin-box height and the F series match-up leads to nose high towing, especially if you do not have the 16" wheel upgrade on the HT. This also has to be considered when selecting the hitch itself.
You will eventually find the F-250 you are looking for, but it may take some time. Not all listings will specify the axle ratio.
2020 Eagle HT 30.5 CKTS Modern Farmhouse (16" wheels, spring shackles set on lower hole of frame, SumoSprings TSS-107-40, standard kingpin, B&W Companion slider, TST-507 TPMS, Progressive Industries hardwired 50A EMS HW-50C)
2019 F250 SRW SuperCab 4X4 SB 6.2 (10,000# GVW) 3.73 Axle 18" wheels
Nature Ist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 05:19 AM   #3