Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-28-2012, 12:21 PM   #1

More towing info please

Okay I have decided on a Jayco Eagle HT 26.5 RLS fifth wheel. Will a properly equipped Ford F-150 XLT pull it easily , or will I be pushing its limits. And if so what type of towing options do I need to make it properly equipped. If not what size truck do I need, and what towing options would you recommend. I am brand new to trailering so any info is very much appreciated. Thanks and Happy New year🎉.

Guitarmanrlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:38 PM   #2
Site Team

We would need some more info about your truck as there are many variations of the F150. Payload, towing capacity, engine, rear differential ratio, rating on tires to name a few. Welcome to the forum, I`m sure our towing guys will help sort it out.

Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:30 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabman View Post
We would need some more info about your truck as there are many variations of the F150. Payload, towing capacity, engine, rear differential ratio, rating on tires to name a few. Welcome to the forum, I`m sure our towing guys will help sort it out.
Yep a lot of variables come into play and no matter what you add to your truck it doesn't legally change your factory ratings. Looks like that 5er loaded down will be at or well over 10,000lbs.
THABULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:04 PM   #4

I do not have a truck yet. I am wanting to know what I need to buy to easily pull a Jayco Eagle HT 26.5RLS 5th wheel. I prefer Ford products. Jayco advertises that this model can be towed with a half ton Ford PU with the 5.0 liter V-8. I 'm sure there are other towing options required. I need to know these options. Here are the spec weights of the trailer.
WEIGHTS
Unloaded Vehicle Weight (lbs) 6,845
Dry Hitch Weight (lbs). 1,285
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (lbs) 9,950
Cargo Carrying Capacity (lbs). 3,105
Thanks
Old 12-28-2012, 07:37 PM   #5