Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2019, 04:20 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
RAurand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,221
Obdi2

What app have you found works best and gives you the IMPORTANT gauges to monitor your engine data while towing. When you have the OBDI2 reader plugged into the port.
I am interested in Transmission Temperatures as well.
Talking about GAS Engines here.
__________________

__________________

2012 Ford Expedition EL
2016 28BHBE, Elite and Thermal Packages.
Surge Guard 34830 , Tire Minder TPMS A1A
(2) Yamaha EF2000iS Generators
Micro-Air EasyStart™ 364 (3-ton) Soft Starter
2012 26BH (Traded)
RAurand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 05:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 665
I use Torque Pro on an Andorid device along with a bluetooth OBDii adapter. 5 for the app and 15 for the adapter.

The available data will be dependent on the sensors that the manufacturer installed.
__________________

__________________
Thanks,
Brian

TV = 2006 F-350 CC DRW 6.0
TT = 2018 Wildwood 31KQBTS
TT = 2007 Jayco Jay Flight 27bh - SOLD
Macrosill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 03:51 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Titusville
Posts: 3
Dittos on Torque Pro. It will also log whatever you want. I log MPG and SPEED then save them as a CSV file and see how much speed affects MPG. Very good app.
bfinigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 07:20 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macrosill View Post
I use Torque Pro on an Andorid device along with a bluetooth OBDii adapter. 5 for the app and 15 for the adapter.

The available data will be dependent on the sensors that the manufacturer installed.
X2, I started off with the free version and bought full version later.

Do a little research on the wireless OBDii unit. Some are better than others. I do not recall which one I have, but everyone at work raved about it, and has been really good for me.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 04:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RAurand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,221
When using the torque pro, I noticed it has a place to put in some data like vehicle weight. Do you just use your vehicle weight or do you use the GCVW of vehicle and trailer?
Should be getting my OBDI2 from the red white and blue truck tomorrow.
__________________

2012 Ford Expedition EL
2016 28BHBE, Elite and Thermal Packages.
Surge Guard 34830 , Tire Minder TPMS A1A
(2) Yamaha EF2000iS Generators
Micro-Air EasyStart™ 364 (3-ton) Soft Starter
2012 26BH (Traded)
RAurand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 10:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Vasquez Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sweetwater
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAurand View Post
When using the torque pro, I noticed it has a place to put in some data like vehicle weight. Do you just use your vehicle weight or do you use the GCVW of vehicle and trailer?
Should be getting my OBDI2 from the red white and blue truck tomorrow.
I've been using the pro version for awhile and think that it's great.

You can store multiple profiles so I have one for an empty vehicle and one for loaded and towing. A known weight gives the variable to calculate horsepower and torque, other things too I suppose.

A great and inexpensive tool. Don't forget android only.
__________________
- Jeff


2017 Jay Flight 32BHDS
2006 GMC 2500HD Classic CC SB 4x4 6.6L Duramax/Allison
Vasquez Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 01:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Live Oak
Posts: 112
Will Torque show the trans temp on an F250? I know if the vehicle has the upgraded dash you can see the trans temp but I don't have that instrument cluster
ASTMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 02:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASTMedic View Post
Will Torque show the trans temp on an F250? I know if the vehicle has the upgraded dash you can see the trans temp but I don't have that instrument cluster
It doesn't look like it. Being a new F-250 owner I'm just starting to learn about all the features but I plugged my reader in and took a quick look at all the available data points. Don't see trans temp or oil temp on the list but I did notice that is was available via the main instrument cluster. I've got the BAFX OBDII reader and am using Torque Lite for now.

This is one thing I will miss about my RAM. The EVIC console display had a panel that showed coolant, oil and trans temps plus oil pressure together. That was the panel I'd switch over to any time we were pulling a long steep hill. Not complaining - I think I got a great value in the F-250 and can't wait to get something hooked up to it and head on down the road. I have a feeling it's going to tow like crazy......
__________________
TT: 2019 ORV Timber Ridge 23DBS, Andersen No-Sway
TV: 2019 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCab LB, 6.2L, 4.30/e-locker, 4x4, 164" WB, 3216 payload
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC (Traded in)
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 02:46 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
RAurand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,221
I am just learning this too. Got the BAFX OBDI2 this afternoon from the White, Blue and Red truck. (Copying the post of What the Big Brown Truck Brought).

Anyway, looking at the videos, With Torque Pro, there are Ford PIDs that can be downloaded and put into the instruments.
__________________

2012 Ford Expedition EL
2016 28BHBE, Elite and Thermal Packages.
Surge Guard 34830 , Tire Minder TPMS A1A
(2) Yamaha EF2000iS Generators
Micro-Air EasyStart™ 364 (3-ton) Soft Starter
2012 26BH (Traded)
RAurand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 02:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Live Oak
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAurand View Post
I am just learning this too. Got the BAFX OBDI2 this afternoon from the White, Blue and Red truck. (Copying the post of What the Big Brown Truck Brought).



Anyway, looking at the videos, With Torque Pro, there are Ford PIDs that can be downloaded and put into the instruments.
Link those videos if you would
__________________

ASTMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.