Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-12-2015, 12:28 PM   #1

Reese Dual Cam Set Up

So, I spent the morning getting the WDH set up. This is what I have so far. It is just a tad nose high, but the trailer is empty. I'm slowly building up supplies, so as more stuff goes in the trailer, I think it will level it perfectly. I will be installing the cams tomorrow. I just wanted to get the weight distribution done first. Once the cams are installed, the chains should hang perfectly straight, as the brackets that the chains bolt to that mount on the cams will cause the chains to angle back about an inch and a half, which by my estimate should put them dead straight from where they are now.

Those of you who know how to set up a WDH, can you tell me if I'm looking good so far? This is my first time doing it. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0919.jpg   IMG_0920.jpg  
OC Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 12:41 PM   #2

I'm no expert, but I have the same Reese DC setup and have been tweaking it myself lately. I think your ball angle is spot on which is oftentimes a moving target (at least for me). I would suggest moving your chain brackets back towards the trailer just a bit so that they are straight up and down. Thankfully, this is only a set screw adjustment and doesn't require drilling. As it sits now, it appears that the chains are reaching back towards the truck a good little bit in the photo. I'm sure smarter people than myself with chime in soon enough.
SparkDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 12:50 PM   #3

SparkDr - Yes, the chains are at a slight angle, but as I mentioned in my OP, I'm installing the cams tomorrow, and the position of the cams and mounts should have the chains hanging dead straight. if they do not hand straight after I put the cams on, then I will adjust accordingly.