Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-26-2019, 05:21 PM   #1

Starting to Research (total newbie)

Hi,

I think I'm about a year/18months out from purchasing a travel trailer. I'm also at the tail end of a lease and will be looking to buy a new vehicle so when that happens, I'd like to get something I can use for towing.

Based on length, weight and floorplan (and budget), I think I would like a Jayflight 154BH or 174BH the most. I'll be traveling as the only adult with a (by then) 7 year old, so I'd like something on the shorter/lighter side with somewhat decent interior living space in case we do longer trips.

Could I tow either of those with a Ford Escape Titanium with a tow package? Ford specs show that trim has a towing capacity of 3500lbs. I currently have an Escape SEL which fits everywhere I've needed to park it and I'm happy with it, so an upgrade to the Titanium trim would be easily doable.

I live in a city, so I don't have parking for a truck or full size SUV (or the trailer for that matter, so I would have to store it). If the Escape isn't a good idea, what would work for either of those Jayflights?

I'm absolutely at the beginning of my research so I'm open to all kinds of suggestions and helpful input.

Thank you!
MicheleInSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 06:40 PM   #2

If I am seeing this right the Ford escape titanium has a 2,000 lb towing capacity while the 154bh is 2400 pounds dry and 3200 loaded.

Have you considered something with a lot more tow capacity like the Jeep Grand Cherokee. I have one with the 3.6 standard engine and tow a 195RB. That comes in loaded around 3500 pounds while the jeep can go to 6500 pounds.

I would never tow at or over capacity as it gives you no safety factor as your car ages and factory capacity is almost certainly diminished. The Ford would be over-stressed and unsafe on day one.