Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-05-2017, 05:23 AM   #1

Tongue weight listed v reality payload issue

Newbie here tons of reading and y'all got me paranoid. Picking up my 2017 Jay flight 28bhbe this week abvetrised dry tongue 685. Obviously propane battery and front storage gonna add to that but I'm seeing folks with same model 28bhbe saying they are 1100-1400lbs tongue weight and that just seems crazy and I'm in the 1500 payload problem. With 1200lb tongue weight myself wife kid dog and maybe a happy meal I'm maxed. Anyone with 28bhbe please chime in. Anyone with anything helpful please chime in. Tv is a 14 sierra 5.3 3.42 sticker 1792 payload. I'll rarely travel more than 50 miles one way to camp. Not new to towing but not overly experienced with this size camper.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
Hiserman79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 05:39 AM   #2

delivered tongue weight on door sticker of trailer is the place to start. all options on trailer add weight to the posted weight in brochure but i am like you 1100 to 1500 from 685 seems like alot.
Old 06-05-2017, 05:47 AM   #3

One thing i have realized that is a downfall of most travel trailers is most of the storage capability of the trailer is towards the front. Mine has pass through storage in the very front. My storage under bed is in the front. My full size side to side closet is in front. When you begin adding things like leveling blocks and clothes and chairs and of course mine had a space for washer dryer combo in front you can see where it would start to add up
Old 06-05-2017, 05:55 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiserman79 View Post