Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-15-2023, 03:57 PM   #1

Tow Vehicle Selection Question - Total Newbie

Greetings All

My apologies for the lengthy post! My question is "have I done my homework correctly?"

My wife and I are potential RVers - approaching retirement in our 60's. She has never RV'd, I did with my parents back in the '70's. My retirement dream is to buy a Travel Trailer and see America!

Maybe we started backwards but we shopped around and have our hearts set on a Jay Flight 212 QB 25' with a 6000 lb GVWR and tongue weight of ~600 lbs. We haven't bought it yet.

Now I need a tow vehicle. I quickly realized my Grand Cherokee with 3500 lb tow rating wasn't cut out for the job.

Experienced friends told me the loaded trailer weight should be no more than 70% of the tow vehicle tow rating. So for my 6000 lb GVWR Jayco 6000/0.7 = ~8600 lb tow rating needed.

After shopping around it seems the Ram 1500 (4X2) with the 5.7L V8, integrated trailer brake controller and 3.21 Axle will work. (8350 lb tow rating a little low but not significantly)

I also learned that the tongue weight gets added into the vehicle GVWR. The Ram has a payload of 1840 so this leaves at least 1200 for people/luggage/stuff after subtracting out 600 lb for the trailer tongue weight. GVWR 6900 - Ram Weight 5055 = 1845 payload (passengers, luggage, tongue weight)

Lastly, the trailer plus loaded vehicle shouldn't exceed the GCWR. For the Ram this is ~14000, so subtracting 6000 lb for trailer and 6900 lb Ram GVWR leaves at least 1000 lbs margin.

I looked around on the Jay Flight 212 thread and see most people have Rams or F150's but also saw a GMC Canyon and Durango - both of which seemed to me to be too small.