Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Closed Thread

Old 01-28-2016, 11:18 AM   #1

Towing 2016 32BHDS with RAM1500

I'm brand new to camping, just purchased a new camper and I'm second guessing the vehicle I have currently as a tow vehicle. It's a 2014 Ram 1500 with the Hemi, 6spd, and 3.92 gears. It's rated to tow 10100lbs and the trailer is supposed to have a GVWR of 9975lbs. I'm camping locally mostly but I'm thinking this may be too much trailer for my light duty truck.... Does anyone have a similar set up??? (I work for a dealership so it'll have to be a ram replacement & I do not like diesel for an everyday vehicle)

Thanks for any replies and advice -RR
Old 01-28-2016, 11:36 AM   #2
Site Team

Welcome to the forum. IMO the 32BHDS is a tall order for a 1500/150 series truck. The loaded tongue weight on that unit could approach 1300-1500 lbs alone and the payload of the 1500 series trucks is very limiting. It is also a 35' trailer IIRC.
Old 01-28-2016, 11:52 AM   #3

i echo crabman, I have the same trailer and tow it with a F250. Its a lot of trailer to tow with a half ton. Hook it up and put it on a set of CAT scales to know for sure. You don't want to find out when its too late.
Old 01-28-2016, 12:09 PM   #4

" It is also a 35' trailer IIRC " what does this mean?
Old 01-28-2016, 01:04 PM   #5
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooster View Post
" It is also a 35' trailer IIRC " what does this mean?

It means if I recall correctly it is a 35 foot long trailer, which also adds to the difficulties in towing with a truck that has a suspension that is under equipped to tow it. Having towed my trailer with both a 1500 and 2500, consider my truck comparison thread on the subject:

http://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f3...ces-11464.html
Old 01-28-2016, 01:36 PM   #6