Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-21-2013, 07:51 PM   #1

Towing woes

Hello. I'm new to the TT world and love camping with a good sized rig given the size of my family. However hauling this thing is a basket of stress I do not enjoy. I'm not going to pretend my tow capacity and trailer weight aren't close but I did add a WD hitch and sway bar. I'm adding another sway bar this week and hoping it helps but thought I might throw it out to you all for advise. Do you think the extra sway bar will help? Both are friction style. My expedition has air bags in the rear but the dealer suggested to put the WD bars on the second link which I'm not sure if its adding to my problem. I have made short pulls on the first link and the tongue doesnt sag but still get sway with cross wind and passing trucks. The setting suggestions are all over the place for the sway bars from cranking it all the way down to finger tight. I've got 9000 lbs of camper at 35 ft long and 135" high with 2 sliders so it's a giant sail. Should I expect some sway? Now this is really a highway problem. Anything below 55 and I don't even know its behind me. Thanks folks. I've got a cross state trip coming up and I don't want to crush the steering wheel with my grip. Thanks

Jay flight G2 32 BHDS
Dry Weight 7855
Payload Capacity 1895
GVWR 9750
Hitch Weight 920

Ford expedition king ranch 2008 4wd
5.4 l. V8 300hp
Rear airbag suspension
9050 towing capacity.
2008 Ford Expedition King Ranch with rear air suspension, Husky WDH & SC
With:wife, my son and two daughters.

GO STATE!
Campinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:08 PM   #2