Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-12-2014, 10:05 PM   #1

Towing X213 with 05 Pathfinder?

Hi. New here, and new to RVing. Getting ready to buy my first trailer and wondering if anyone can give me advice with towing limitations. Wife and I want to purchase the X213 Ultralight which weighs in at 3995 unloaded, 5500 GVWR, 330 dry hitch weight. Will I be OK towing with my Nissan Pathfinder that rates 6000 payload and 600 tongue weight?

I'm very new to RVing and want to make sure I'm safe and do the right thing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Mark G
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 10:27 PM   #2

You should have no problem but I think you'll find it will more then 3995. That's the base weight and if you check the door there will be a shipped weight with options. Mine is 4420lbs. Then you add everything you're bringing. I just round up to 5000lbs.
Old 05-12-2014, 11:10 PM   #3

I tow a x23b with GVWR about 500lbs less than the X213 with an 05 Pathfinder. I tow mostly in the flat midwest, but so far it's been adequate. I have no issues maintaining highway speed. You may need to pack light; watch the loaded hitch weight...330 hitch weight + 80lb WD hitch + 40 lbs propane + 50lb battery, and anything you store towards the front of the camper adds up pretty quick. But...I think it can be done. Travel with empty water tanks. I also have a BullyDog GT to keep an eye on my trans temp when towing. So far so good...
kvangil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 07:28 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by markg View Post