Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-03-2013, 07:44 PM   #1

Volvo xc90 and X23b - Opinions?

Newbie here. New to the forum and a never-ever camper who wants to get out in the great outdoors for the first time.

I went to the local Jayco dealer today and came away more confused than ever. The salesman was a slick as they come and he pegged my BS meter. I just don’t trust him at all.

I have a Volvo xc90, AWD, 3.2 V6 with a published tow capacity of 5000 lbs. I am looking at a 2013 Jayco X23b. At 3925 unloaded weight, 410 hitch weight and 4950 GVWR, “No problem, no problem, no problem. This TT is made for vans and SUVs,” he says. Then, he said, “Your car can tow 5000# and that has nothing to do with what is loaded in your car.”

In answer to my questions, he claims that there is no problem with my car towing this trailer. He recommends a weight distribution hitch and electric brakes. He won’t install the wiring for the electric brakes because “foreign cars are hard to work on so you should take it to your dealer.” “Sign now because I only have one left at this price.” I walked off to ‘think about it.’

I come to you experts for advice. Either not a lot of people are towing with a Volvo XC90 or few are posting about it – I just cannot find any concrete information pro or con.

Would you let your daughter tow a Jayco X23b with my car like mine?
ski2moro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:07 PM   #2

Am not familiar with your Volvo, but I would also question your Volvo’s ability too. I would recommend calling Volvo with your VIN number and ask about your particular towing ability.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:06 AM   #3