Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-17-2012, 07:03 PM   #1

WD Hitch setup help

I'm still new to this hitch stuff so need some help to fine tune.

It came to my realization after a couple towings and talking to other that my trailer was sitting to high at the hitch. You could just see it was low in the rear of trailer. So I think my dealer just threw it on and sent me on my way.

I have a Reese round bar setup. Dealer had the ballmount at the hightest setting so I dropped it down 2 holes to the lowest setting and set the adjustable washer to 4, which looked like a level ball.

After dropping the trailer on the truck and installing the round bars with 6 links between bar and hook(2 links not used), my tt is a little hight at hitch, but I think I still need the rear of the truck to come up an inch or so.

Where do I need to adjust yet? I should note that this work so far is with a empty truck in my yard.

2012 Silverado LT 1500 Z71
2009 Jayco 23B
Old 06-18-2012, 09:33 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Your right, ideally it's best to adjust a WDH under loaded TV/TT conditions.

Note that the objective of a WDH is to return the weight that was removed from the TV's front suspension back when the spring bars engaged via proper WDH adjustment. We use fender heights as an acceptable means to get the proper weight distribution in the ball park..., a CAT scale is the only way to confirm. Your correct that moving the ball mount up/down on the draw bar is the proper way to adjust TT levelness.