Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-19-2022, 09:32 AM   #1

16XRB Battery replacement (AGM)

I have been putting this off as we have been using powered sites but its finally time to get a new battery. I am new to all this but I am thinking of going AGM just for the maintenance free aspect. Will an AGM work with my 16XRB or do I need to modify anything? This is the one I am considering.

https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/m...2498p.html#plp

Alternately I could save $100 and buy this wet battery but I do not know much about battery maintenance(filling with water ect.), what would you do?

https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/m...2492p.html#plp
Javin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 10:53 AM   #2

I believe an AGM should work fine as a drop in replacement. I was originally considering using AGM batteries but went with lithium.

If you are into RVing for a long time maybe look into a Lithium Iron Phosphate battery. Supposedly last for years, lighter, more usable capacity and also no maintenance.
Downsides-
1.Cost. Probably at least 2x of the AGM battery, but if you buy 2 AGM over the years as compared to 1 lithium it may pay off.
2. Possibly a need to change existing battery converter to support lithium's slightly higher voltage. Some newer converters may support lithium batteries, usually a small switch. Or keep using what converter you have and loose approximately 20% of battery's capacity by not fully charging it. But with that lower charge level you will extend it's life. Still ahead in that you can only draw a lead acid to 50% before damage starts, yet the lithium will have 80% usable.
3. Cold weather- Below 32deg F (of course 0C for you Canadians!) the lithium shouldn't be charged, but most decent Lithium batteries have a low temp cutoff.
TS3 Hitch
Ms says I'm full of useless knowledge and other stuff...