Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Go Back   Jayco RV Owners Forum > Trailers, 5th Wheels, and Motorhomes > Jayco Hybrids
Click Here to Login

Old 07-02-2017, 12:05 AM   #1

2015 x17z - Losing fresh water from low point drain (newbie)

Newbie here, with a brand new (to me) 2015 x17z.

We have tried filling the fresh water tank through the non-city / gravity feed port a few times using an aquatainer and funnel. No more than 14 gallons has been added at this point. Everything seems OK, until we turn on the pump. At that point all the water shoots out quickly out of a low point (?) / overflow (?) pvc pipe protruding out the bottom that is located near the grey & black water ports.

What is going on here? We wondered if a valve, like those for the fresh water drain located elsewhere, might have blown off and needs to be reinstalled. Or if there is a hidden shut-off we are missing. Or?

A video is attached.

If anyone can help, we would love to hear from you! Thank you.
Attached Files
msibbern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 06:05 AM   #2

There is either a small valve somewhere or it used to have a threaded cap on the end, to remove for drainage.
Easiest fix, if you don't locate a valve, is to just install a sharkbite fitting valve yourself. Can be gotten at a Lowes or online. Most likely 1/2" pex tubing.

2020 Outdoors RV Glacier Peak Titanium
2013 Eagle 29.5RKS (traded in)
2013 Ford 6.7L diesel F350
Cosmik Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 10:54 AM   #3

Thank you Cosmik Debris. We actually have one of those very valves ready to install . Just wanted to verify before we install; did not want to plug something was supposed to remain as is.

For completeness sake, here are a couple pictures to better indicate the location and appearance of this drain.